We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsstadir Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Hofsstadir Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Road No. 76 | 551. Sauðárkrókur, Saudarkrokur, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Saudarkrokur B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a delightful experience! You couldn’t be closer to nature without losing the heating and the indoor plumbing. The Guesthouse is family run, felt like it, and you couldn’t find nicer folks on this planet running the place. The owner tells family stories during dinner. They open this new wing with about half dozen rooms, or more like semi detached small townhouses that are so home like you feel like you are staying at your best friend’s house rather than a hotel room. Loved every minute of it! Hated to leave. I would make a point of passing through the neighbourhood again just to stay there one more time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was by far one of my favorite stops on our 10 day trip around Iceland. The staff was unbelievably helpful friendly. This small cabin like guesthouses are in a beautiful valley that looks out toward the ocean. It is a must stop for anyone traveling the around the north side of Iceland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in a cosy room with moutain view. The room is clean and well maintained. Wifi reception quite weak in our room. Typical Icelandic breakfast served. Everything is good and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Staff very friendly and very helpful. Chef told stories after dinner.
Dinner good but over priced. Breakfast very good.
Room - very very pokey - could not open out the suitcase on the floor.
???Sound proofing - I could hear everyword from the room next door.
Not very well sign posted when arriving in the dark. Wifi non existent in our room.
Shower - did not like to have to keep pressing the button to get water - but I think this is in keeping with their environmental attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very isolated but warm and welcoming, the room was especially cosy and extremely comfortable beds and environment. Would help to be better signposted. Breakfast typically Icelandic, and lots of home made produce, set me up for the day,.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The new rooms were perfect with a fabulous view to the fjord. The bathroom with the shower was excellent. The restaurant menu was varied and tasty. Great choice at the breakfast table.
Friendly service.
We would go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

These cabins are some way from anywhere - so to arrive in awful wind and rain to find a lovely warm welcome, cosy and immaculately clean cabins with wonderful large modern wet room bathrooms was just so relaxing. Good range of TV channels/tea tray and large shelf unit as well as a few wall hooks. Couldn't use the hooks over the tea tray though, or all our clothing there would have been gently steaming, and we couldn't move the tea tray. Just a wee point they could note.
The cabins are in three lines and I am guessing some are newer than others. You walk just a few yards to the restaurant block for supper/breakfast.
Supper was amazing - I cannot guess how they produce so much of such quality in such an isolated spot. 4,900 ISK for two of us with a main, coke and wine. Fish, horse steaks and minute steak offered (much thicker than we usually get in UK and melted like butter so well cooked). I think the chef would be the Toti everyone keeps mentioning. Very friendly chap - the blonde lady serving a supper was more reticent. Breakfast was usual contintental selection with a hot 'casserole' option described as bread/cheese and vegetables. Good coffee here. There was a delightful German lady serving at breakfast. We were so pleased we stayed here.
The valley is known for its Icelandic horses which are seen everywhere. There are wonderful views out to the sea from the backs of the cabins, which all have little seating areas outside each back door. No Northern Lights as cloud cover quite thick, but haunting and beautiful all the same. Lots of different birds for the ornithologists out there. They have some home made preserves and craftwork on sale in the little lounge area in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hofsstadir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsstadir Guesthouse

Address: Road No. 76 | 551. Sauðárkrókur, Saudarkrokur, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northwest Region > Saudarkrokur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saudarkrokur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hofsstadir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsstadir Guesthouse Iceland/Saudarkrokur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsstadir Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.