We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Reykholt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Reykholt to your Saves list
Fosshotel Reykholt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Reykholt | on Rte 518, Reykholt, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is the third Fosshotel we stayed in during our recent visit to Iceland. It was chosen because we wanted to see northern light. After stayed in Skaftafell, Husavik, Reykholt was the last one. I must admit that out of the three, this would be the last one that I like. Room was basic, or say rather old, it was spacious since it was a room cater for disabled guest. Staffs were friendly and helpful, while I check-in, I was reminded that a large function was going to take place in the restaurant and time that I should avoid using the restaurant to save me waiting for long. The dinner was fair, wouldn't say anything special about it, and I found a hair in my seafood pasta. The breakfast was disapointed, when we arrived, although not particular early, what was left (food) was like it been through a battle, with "left-over" looking like food. The coffee machine wasn't working properly either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
11
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We went to Reykholt in hopes of seeing the Northern Lights. The hotel is very clean and basic. My only suggestion is really for Iceland as a whole - it would be so nice to have a full size bed that wasn't just two twins stuck together! That said, the dinner made up for the beds. We hadn't expected such a nice dinner, but this hotel has a great chef! The cured salmon appetizer was tender and tasty - not oily - and served on a nice bed of arugula with a dill sauce. I had the lamb entree and it was delicious and tender in a rosemary sauce with a perfectly cooked baked potato. And best of all, we left dinner to walk outside and saw an amazing display of the Northern Lights!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tusayan, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night during my holiday in Iceland. We weren't expecting much as Reykholt is fairly small and in the middle of nowhere, but we were up for a nice suprise. The staff was very friendly, the food nice (and not expensive), breakfast good, rooms big and clean... all in all a very pleasant experience! Close by and the Hraunfossar waterfalls (about 20 mins by car) and of course Snorri's bath and a small museum. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Basic, nice hotel, with good food. Much less Spartan than expected. Of course there was lots of water pressure, and you can walk to Snorri Sturluson's farm and its geysirs which are located behind the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor is good if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We found this hotel by accident after having explored the Kaldilar nroad through the interior ,coming from Pingvellir, which I highly reccomend. Get off the Ring Road. Anyway , ask for the suite --it was very resonable for Iceland and it had a tube and all the hot water in Reykholt is thermo heated water. It was heaven. Breakfast was generous with a good selection and we had dinner there too, it was well prepared. Nice people, but then everyone we met in Iceland was friendly and helpful and open.

Room Tip: the suite is a good bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I do not recommend this place at all. I made reservations 6 months in advance and they lost them. After presenting my proof of reservation, they gave us a "suite". It may have had more space, which we didn't need, but it also had a dozen more windows that did not have curtains adequate to block the sun. The only restaurant around was in the hotel. It was extremely overpriced and not really that good. Both my husband and I left hungry. We would have been better off eating at the gas station down the street, which we would have done had it still been open when we found it. The breakfast wasn't any better. We did eat at the gas station for lunch. Highly recommend. The hot tubs in the hotel weren't working because of lack of cold water. Also you have to pay for wifi, unlike most other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked here as there was nothing else in the vicinity and we wanted to do some walks in the area. The double room was furnished with the very basics and was extremely plain and depressing. The windows were very small so did little to help the general feel. the towel rail was immediately above the toilet which is unhygienic, it could not be reached from the shower and there was nowhere else to hang the towel. The toilet was not fixed down, the door into the shower squeaked so badly it woke the other person at night. There is a notice saying that the cold water in the room is from a spring and was drinkable, ours was warm and must have got mixed with the hot somewhere as it tasted stongly of sulphur and we had to use bottled water - so be prepared and take some if you have to use this hotel. The taps are very difficult to turn off, in fact my husband was had to turn them off otherwise they dripped constantly.We had pre-booked and paid for 2 nights, otherwise we would not have stayed a second. When we arrived back from a very long day's walking the room had not been made up. We told Anna, a very pleasant young woman with excellent English, on Reception and she organised a cleaner and also for us to have a cup of coffee whilst we waited. Anna also stayed and chatted to us and gave us interesting information on Snorri. Breakfast was another unpleasant experience. The policy seems to be not to clear any dirty dishes from the tables until the end of breakfast, consequently on both days we had to eat surrounded by other people's used plates etc. The food was adequate, just, sundried tomato bread was the only option on the first day - this goes well with savouries but not with preserves. The coffee continually ran out and queues formed waiting for it. The dead flies adorning the vases on the stairways had been around for quite a while. We will hope never to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Reykholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Reykholt

Address: 320 Reykholt | on Rte 518, Reykholt, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Reykholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Reykholt 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshótel Reykholt is a cultural theme hotel, based on Icelandic literature, Norse mythology and classical music. This official 3 star Tourist Class hotel includes a restaurant, bar, library, Internet lounge, front desk, outdoor hot tubs, the cosy moon-lounge, wellness center, conference rooms for up to 150 persons and free parking. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. At Fosshótel Reykholt following room categories are available:•24 spacious superior rooms with bathtub.•29 standard double and single rooms with shower.•3 Family rooms.This hotel is ideal for guests that like to relax in the countryside, enjoy reading, writing and are interested in extending their knowledge of Icelandic cultural heritage.Fosshótel Reykholt focuses also on well being and cultural travel, offering unique facilities based on relaxing, destressing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fosshotel Reykholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Reykholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.