We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote and spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breidavik Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Breidavik Guesthouse to your Saves list
Breidavik Guesthouse
breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Remote and spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Breidavik guesthouse is the nearest accommodations for those visiting the Látrabjarg bird cliffs (around 10 kms away). It is a family run operation and we found the owner Birna Atladóttir to be a warm & gracious woman. We stayed at the en suite cabins that are of the pre-fab type. For a night's stay they were just fine. There was no wi-fi in the rooms. The food served was very well-prepared but pricey. I wouldn't complain, however. To bring provisions & supplies to this remote location must take a lot of effort, and the tourist season is extremely short in this part of Iceland. This farm is located within a short walking distance of a wondrous beach, and the surrounding visuals are spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    36
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Some 40 kilometers each between Patreksfjördur (population ca.700) and Iceland's westernmost point at Latrabjerg is this amazing place. Breidavik guesthouse sits in the middle of one of the most beautiful golden-beached bays I've ever seen, with a backdrop of steep cliffs and nothing but a few stables and a little chapel for company. If it's complete peace and quiet (and otherworldly scenery) you're looking for, you've got it here.
Alas, the guesthouse itself is rather substandard. A crossbreed between youth hostel and basic hoteel, it's, well, basic, functional and not particularly good value. Rooms very tiny, and showers very far away at the other end of the rather rambling building. The three-course dinner was close to a rip-off, so if you stay here, bring your own food.
Oh, the camping site outside looked rather nice. In good weather, this may be a better option than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Hotel Breidavik is the only hotel next to Latrabjarg, where you can see the puffins very close. The offer nice rooms with bathrooms in a seperate, rather new building. In our case the room was dirty, we got fresh towels and sheets only on request. You can have dinner there (no menu with choices, they promised a three courses dinner); but please do not order eat. We hat a kind of soup + bread and a dessert (skyr); both tasted gooed, but the price was shooking: 4.900,- ISK / person, which is about 27,- Euros. This is a rip-off, even for the icelandic prices level.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The place is litterally in the middle of nowhere after a long twisted dirt road. We had a very small car (Hyunday Getz), which did just fine, but it would have been a bit more comfortable to have a bigger vehicule.

We did not have reservation and got there late during the high season so we had to sleep in sleeping bag accommodation ($50); bunkbeds in individual room with share watercloset. My only complaint is the lack of adequate curtains, there were basically inexistant, so you have to sleep with the sun shinning on you.

There is a shared kitchen on the first floor of the building if you want to cook. You can also camp outside, have a room with shared bath or private bath. So all sort of options for sleeping accommodation.
The food was great but you have no choice, you eat what is served and they stop serving at 8:30 pm in high season.
One of the ladies that was working there was very helpful to indicate the hiking trail and how to get to see the puffins... easy just drive until the road ends :-).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Nice rooms, clean and simple, a bit narrow though. We had an extra bed in one room which turned out to be a mattress an a cold floor.
No choice regarding food and no second servings with rather small helpings, not really enough for hungry people with nowhere else to go since the next shop is far away.
However the location is fantastic.
Recommandable for bird lovers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I have to preface this review with the fact that I had a strange feeling about this place the whole time I was there. I don't know if it was because it was so far out in the middle of no where. Or if it was because there were alot of people milling about that didn't seem to be tourists and I couldn't figure out if they lived there or worked there or what. But the strange feeling was unnecessary, we had a very nice stay here.

The rooms are set facing a beautiful sandy beach. We had two single beds. The room was clean. There were metal shades that blocked the light. This was great, we were very tired of the light all night by this point in our stay. The shower is weird though. There's 1 push button. You push it and it spits out water for a few seconds then turns off. No control over how long or how hot. It happened to be scalding hot. And I love hot showers. It was too hot for me. I had to run out some of the hot water into the sink before I could shower.

Dinner was at the main building. It was good, but seemed a bit over priced. Get a beer - it's the western most bar in Europe. Breakfast was the standard in Iceland as far as hotels / guesthouses. Cereal, toast, juice.

Be sure to walk out to the beach, it's gorgeous. There's also a pretty church on the hill overlooking the farm.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
229 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Breidavik is a working sheep farm with different types of accommodation. It is really in the middle of nowhere, but it is a fantastic location for hiking and bird watching. The Latrabjarg is only 12 km away and it is the one of the best spots to observe cliff birds.

There is a main building for breakfast and dinner and the rooms are located in an annex. Moderate sized room with two single beds, spotless clean, bathroom with shower. Stunning view from the room over a yellow sand beach. Very nice family that really tries to make you feel at home. Wireless internet available in the main building, amazing that it works in such a remote area of the country. In the evening you can have dinner in the bar or you can cook yourself. But just go for the dinner as you will get typical Icelandic home cooked food.

We enjoyed our stay very much and we regretted that we booked here for only one night. The hotel is open from May to September. Wireless internet access in the main building (about EUR 10.00 for 24 hours).

  • Liked — location and very frieindly family
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breidavik Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidavik Guesthouse

Address: breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Breidavik Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidavik Guesthouse Hotel Patreksfjorour
Breidavik Guesthouse Iceland/Patreksfjorour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breidavik Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.