We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest Guesthouse for Látrabjarg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breidavik Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Breidavik Guesthouse to your Saves list
Breidavik Guesthouse
breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Austria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Closest Guesthouse for Látrabjarg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you want to visit the Látrabjarg bird cliffs, there isn't much choice for accommodation, this is basically it - apart from camping. This Guesthouse was quite typical of the accommodation we found in Iceland. It is located in a nice quiet spot close to the beach. It is about a 20 min drive to the bird cliffs, which can be easily visited after dinner. The access road is not bad for Iceland, but if you are not used to driving gravel roads you might find it challenging.
My husband and I had a small room in the main building with bunk beds (sleeping-bag accommodation). There were two toilets on our floor. The showers were downstairs and through the kitchen/dining area. There are no shops close by, so if you plan to cook you need to bring all your own food.
Dinner is nice and not too expensive compared to some of the prices we paid elsewhere - especially when you consider how remote this place is. The dinner selection was not big (we had the same meal for both nights there); admittedly the first nice we had a choice of fish or lamb, but the second night the only choice was the fish.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

A stay here is a welcome escape from everyday life. The road leading to Breidavik is no worse than any other maintained gravel road in the Westfjords or elsewhere in Iceland (in our opinion); no need to be intimidated even with a 2 wheel drive. We enjoyed our room in the containers facing the beach for one quiet and peaceful July night. The 3 course dinner was fine albeit not much choice but the only option so close to the bird cliffs. We visited the cliffs after dinner to witness the puffins and other birds returning home for the evening. It was a special experience. Though it is a bit expensive, we recommend this laid back place on the picturesque reddish sand beach.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you're going to see Latrabjarg, there's not much choice in lodging---this is it! Typical Icelandic country hotel - ie, the "modular" steel-clad 1-story buildings with identical rooms; most hotels we stayed in fit this exact model. Typical of these rooms are very, very tiny showers... be careful turning around in the showerstall, if your faucet has a single-handle---you can easily turn the water to scalding hot in a second, if you bump the handle!)
The drive to Breidavik is intense---much of it is unpaved gravel/dirt roads, full of potholes and some switch-back turns (doesn't require a 4x4, but you will be *severely* jostled on the drive.) It was all brand new to us, so we didn't mind so much---just part of the adventure, as the scenery is so alien, coming from the east coast of the USA!
There's a huge, expansive, desolate beach to walk, a small church and an old cemetery. The place is the epitome of "remote."
The staff was friendly and helpful---Birna, the owner, especially; we had some initial confusion over the room reservation (they use a fairly old-school paper reservation system in the office) but it all worked out. We arrived quite late (9:30pm) and had missed the dinner service---there are simply no other options in this area---yet they were able to pull together some asparagus soup and bread - which was heaven after that long drive!
As one reviewer said, going to see Latrabjarg is a primary reason for lodging here---we too, saw not a single puffin (as we'd longed to see...fortunately ran into hundreds days later, elsewhere.) But Latrabjarg is an astonishing set of breath-taking, somewhat frightening cliffs, and I could have lingered there for many hours, without the (absent) puffins as the main attraction. You truly feel like you're at the end of the world. (And being the westernmost tip of all Europe, you sort of are!)

Room Tip: Note that many of these common modular-type hotel structures have a slide-down metal shade (outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Getting there was quite a nightmare. Terrible road in very bad shape, quite difficult to drive through. However, the location is spectacular, the beach is simply amazing.
Rooms are quite simple (but they have blinds, so you can actually get complete darkness to sleep!), as well as food (a set course menu without many options), but taking into account its remote location I assume that supplies are not easy to get.
Free wifi on the lounge, quite useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I visited this property for one night in mid August. My goal was to see the bird life and puffins at the Látrabjarg Cliffs. At this point in the season - very few birds and no puffins. So... if that is your goal beware. There is no reason to pay the prices and make this drive if the birds and puffins are no in residence.

I stayed in the rooms with the private bathrooms. This is a prefabricated block of rooms. Simplistic is a kind description. Survivable for a night. No television, no desk - just the two single beds and the bathroom.

There is Wi-Fi - now free - in the common area - restaurant. Dinner was only acceptable. Starter was a thin soup. LImited choice of two mains. Breakfast was below average for Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Spectacular location in one of the most secluded beaches in Iceland. The rooms are comfortable, the service friendly. The restaurant offers limited choices but the food is good. It is worth driving hours to be there!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is in a great location if you want to be near the Latrabjarg bird cliffs. Our room was a bit roomier than our previous hotel rooms in Iceland, and with a nice view looking at the hotel's camping lawn and toward the bird cliffs. We chose to share a bathroom to help keep costs down. This turned out not to be a problem because the bathroom was right next door and only shared with one other room. The shower area is in the same building but farther away, and it does not include soap or a washcloth. Also, the windows in our room only had bamboo shades that only partially block the light.

The nearby beach is HUGE. Not only is it a long sandy beach, but it is perhaps the widest beach we've ever seen. We walked out to the water and back, hoping that the Arctic terns and other birds nesting in the grass wouldn't dive bomb us. They circled and squawked overhead but left us alone.

In my opinion, our dinner was one of the best we had in Iceland. We were served a 3-course dinner for 5900 kronur each (expensive but delicious). We both ordered the same: cauliflower soup, leg of lamb with mashed potatoes and vegetables, and skyr mousse for dessert. The cauliflower soup was just OK, but everything else was excellent. The lamb was incredibly tender and falling off the bone.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breidavik Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidavik Guesthouse

Address: breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Breidavik Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidavik Guesthouse Hotel Patreksfjorour
Breidavik Guesthouse Iceland/Patreksfjorour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breidavik Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.