We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Not Family Oriented” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breidavik Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patreksfjorour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breidavik Guesthouse
breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Patreksfjorour
Irvine, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Not Family Oriented”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

No family rooms, no dinner options for kids - meals are expensive. Very untypical of Iceland where kids almost always receive discounts.

If you stay here with kids, I would suggest having them eat the ham and cheese sandwiches at the bar before dinner. We had to take two rooms for a family of four. Our most expensive stay in Iceland.

Location is beautiful and convenient to bird cliffs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
6
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stopped here to have lunch, after watching the puffins at the nearby bird cliffs. The waitress said the had only soup and "hot sandwiches with meat and cheese", so went for that. The soup was ok, but she seemed to have forgotten our sandwiches. After 30 minutes, the empty bowls still on the table, we dared to inquire about the sandwiches. A few minutes later, she arrived with burnt bricks (what used to be toast), and some undefinable ingredients in between. Absolutely not eatable. Prices were incredibly high, even for Iceland. Rip-off. Location is nice though - very close to beach, nice balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was a very nice guesthouse, located near the beach and close to the bird cliffs (30min drive and there is also a bus from the guesthouse going over there after 9pm). We have seen many puffins, some of them only an arm's length away. At the beach and on the way towards the beach, the arctic terns are indeed guarding their nests, but it's quite funny to see the birds get all excited when you are just walking past. Sometimes, you could see and hear them from far away with a clear goal to 'attack' you, but don't worry; they haven't hurt us, as long as you keep your distance to their nests ofc.
The room was quite ok, big enough with a small seating area, a little desk, a closet and even coffee & tea. The bathroom was small, but provided all you needed to have, even a hair dryer. We also liked the blinds to make the room completely light and sound proof.
We had dinner at the restaurant and they served a good 3-course meal, which was reasonably priced (including the drinks). Also for breakfast, I appreciated the wide range to choose from; though no baked eggs, but still more choice as other places we had breakfast at. I would definitely recommend staying here if you want to see the puffins, have a remote stay and just have a relaxing walk on the beach without exciting the terns too much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you want to see Puffins, this is the place for you. If you want to see Arctic Terns, this is also the place for you. Situated in an old wayward boys reformatory, I had the pleasure of staying in a room with four beds and a shared bathroom.

The location was great, and near the beach and perfect to see the coast.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night before leaving the western fjord area - it is the nearest hotel to the bird cliffs. The room was a little larger than I was expecting having read some of the reviews and a kettle and supplies were provided. The view was lovely across the beach to the sea - unfortunately we were attacked by the arctic tern when we went for a walk down to the sea as we were obviously too close to their nests! The bar/lounge area didn't seem particularly welcoming and breakfast was more limited than most places we stayed. Each time I went to make a cup of tea there was no hot water in the flask and it took quite a while to be replaced. We weren't told that we had to vacate our room by 10.00 a.m. but at about 10.15 someone knocked to clean and tidy the room ready for the next guests arrival!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Breiðavík Guesthouse is located on a large, remote farm near the spectacular Látrabjarg bird cliffs. The owner, Birna, imbues the place with a very special warmth - we loved talking with her and her staff. You kind of felt like you were part of the family. We stayed in the "pod" rooms overlooking the beach. The view from my room was serene. The room itself was very much like a standard hotel room. The hot water ran out when I took my first shower, but other than that I was very happy with the room. Unlike one of the other reviewers, I thought the food was terrific. It was incredibly fresh and well prepared. I didn't mind hanging out in the lobby or in the restaurant to get on the internet because I enjoyed the company of the staff. I heartily recommend this place.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the "pod" rooms by the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patreksfjordur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Me and my wife have stayed at Breidavik many times. I love the tranquility and cozy atmosphere. The view from the dining room is amazing. We had lamb last time I was there that tasted fantastic.

Yellow sandy beach is a great place to take evening stroll.

Its a short drive from the amazing cliffs of Latrabjarg. We had a very nice time in Breidavik. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I stayed at the sweet :) - ask for the sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breidavik Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidavik Guesthouse

Address: breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Patreksfjorour
Also Known As:
Breidavik Guesthouse Hotel Patreksfjorour
Breidavik Guesthouse Iceland/Patreksfjorour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breidavik Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Breidavik Guesthouse to your Saves list