We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, that's it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Breidavik Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patreksfjorour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breidavik Guesthouse
breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Patreksfjorour
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice location, that's it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night before moving back south from the west fjords.

Room was nice with a view out into the bay. The Latrabjarg cliffs are definitely worth travelling to and a mere 20 mins drive away.

That's it for the good news, now for less good:
- restaurand food was not good, and very expensive. Not many alternatives around unfortunaltey..
- wireless internet is available only in the bar/restaurant, and expensive (1000 ISK/day)
- not hot water in the shower in the morning... now that really grates in Iceland when the cold water is *really* cold

Unless you are a bird watcher and want to spend a lot of time at Latrabjarg which sits on the doorstep, avoid this place

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
6
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Being so close to Latrabjarg is the only real advantage of this guesthouse. The rooms are
Motel-like, small but ok - tiny shower-cabin, breakfast moderate. We cooked a meal in the
common kitchen, which needed a good cleaning. Overpriced but full of tourists eager to
go to see the lovely puffins in Latrabjarg.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meilen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

During an organized bus tour through Iceland, we stayed at this hotel for one night.

The room (I stayed in one of the container rooms) was very simple, and had a few shortcomings: There was absolutely no artificial light. The two lamps in the ceiling had such a weak light, they might as well not be there. There was no other lamp. Granted, in summer you might not need artifical light, but still... Furthermore, the floor covering had a hole and everything looked quite dated. It was mostly clean though. Also, there was no Wifi in the room.

I slept extremely well as there is absolutely no noise from either outside or inside, i.e. the insulation is great. The beds were comfortable. We also ate in the restaurant and the food was quite tasty.

Overall, I'd say it's an okay hotel for a short stay, but it is rather simple.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Breidavik guesthouse is the nearest accommodations for those visiting the Látrabjarg bird cliffs (around 10 kms away). It is a family run operation and we found the owner Birna Atladóttir to be a warm & gracious woman. We stayed at the en suite cabins that are of the pre-fab type. For a night's stay they were just fine. There was no wi-fi in the rooms. The food served was very well-prepared but pricey. I wouldn't complain, however. To bring provisions & supplies to this remote location must take a lot of effort, and the tourist season is extremely short in this part of Iceland. This farm is located within a short walking distance of a wondrous beach, and the surrounding visuals are spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Some 40 kilometers each between Patreksfjördur (population ca.700) and Iceland's westernmost point at Latrabjerg is this amazing place. Breidavik guesthouse sits in the middle of one of the most beautiful golden-beached bays I've ever seen, with a backdrop of steep cliffs and nothing but a few stables and a little chapel for company. If it's complete peace and quiet (and otherworldly scenery) you're looking for, you've got it here.
Alas, the guesthouse itself is rather substandard. A crossbreed between youth hostel and basic hoteel, it's, well, basic, functional and not particularly good value. Rooms very tiny, and showers very far away at the other end of the rather rambling building. The three-course dinner was close to a rip-off, so if you stay here, bring your own food.
Oh, the camping site outside looked rather nice. In good weather, this may be a better option than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Hotel Breidavik is the only hotel next to Latrabjarg, where you can see the puffins very close. The offer nice rooms with bathrooms in a seperate, rather new building. In our case the room was dirty, we got fresh towels and sheets only on request. You can have dinner there (no menu with choices, they promised a three courses dinner); but please do not order eat. We hat a kind of soup + bread and a dessert (skyr); both tasted gooed, but the price was shooking: 4.900,- ISK / person, which is about 27,- Euros. This is a rip-off, even for the icelandic prices level.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The place is litterally in the middle of nowhere after a long twisted dirt road. We had a very small car (Hyunday Getz), which did just fine, but it would have been a bit more comfortable to have a bigger vehicule.

We did not have reservation and got there late during the high season so we had to sleep in sleeping bag accommodation ($50); bunkbeds in individual room with share watercloset. My only complaint is the lack of adequate curtains, there were basically inexistant, so you have to sleep with the sun shinning on you.

There is a shared kitchen on the first floor of the building if you want to cook. You can also camp outside, have a room with shared bath or private bath. So all sort of options for sleeping accommodation.
The food was great but you have no choice, you eat what is served and they stop serving at 8:30 pm in high season.
One of the ladies that was working there was very helpful to indicate the hiking trail and how to get to see the puffins... easy just drive until the road ends :-).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breidavik Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidavik Guesthouse

Address: breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Patreksfjorour
Also Known As:
Breidavik Guesthouse Hotel Patreksfjorour
Breidavik Guesthouse Iceland/Patreksfjorour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breidavik Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Breidavik Guesthouse to your Saves list