We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Bighorn National Monument

Little Bighorn National Monument
Interstate 90 Exit 510, Crow Agency, MT
406-638-3224
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Battlefields, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The soldiers who died in Custer's Last Stand, now known as the Battle of Little Bighorn, are memorialized at this monument, featuring a statue of the legendary Custer, whose men were outnumbered and slaughtered in a battle against the Plains Indians.
Canada
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
214 attraction reviews
Reviews in 305 cities Reviews in 305 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
“Great stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very informative and interesting stop for most people, I stayed about 5 hrs, I could have stayed longer. Ranger talks, movies are all very good, as is the drive to the far end of the battlefield.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    72
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth Going Out of Your Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

On our way from Sheridan to the Black Hills we decided to go the long way and visit the Park. Even though it was raining, we found thepark interesting. The movie at the visitor center was followed by an extremely informative Ranger talk. Visitors from around the world sat entranced as the significance of the battle was explained. It was pointed out that there were no white hats or black hats, just a clash of two different ways of life. Due to the rain,we decided to drive the park and absorb the terrain in the context of what we had been told. It was a very worthwhile detour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I Learned Something New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our recent visit proved very informative. We sat and listened to the Park Rangers talk to us about the battle at Little Big Horn and learned/saw many things that Hollywood didn't tell us about in their movies. The Park Ranger spoke to us for 45 minutes in way that kept us attentive for the full time we were there. We drove the 5 mile route which was well laid out and provided many information markers along the way. Hats off the National Park staff for a great couple of hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stopped On Our Way To South Dakota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was not a planned stop, but we decided to visit since we were driving by. It cost $10.00 per vehicle to enter. Our children decided to work on the Junior Ranger badge. We watched the video first, but there were not enough seats for everyone. The video also lacked closed caption, which was disappointing considering this is a national park. We spent the rest of the time looking in the visitor center and outside looking at the graves and monument. Our children did complete their badges, but some of the answers were difficult to find. The history of the battle was very interesting, and the rangers were helpful. As far as the highway next to the park, there was very little when it came to gas stations and restaurants. If driving on to South Dakota, get gas right off the interstate and be prepared for a long drive of nothing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

It was so much bigger than we expected. We arrived in pouring rain, toured in pouring rain and it was still raining when we left. It did nothing to dampen our enthusiasm however. The quiet was eerie and we could imagine how terrified Custer's men must have been. We also watched the video in the gift shop and toured the cemetery. I almost wished for a speaker system with Native singing and the sounds of battle. Very awe-inspiring. The entrance fee was $10.00 per vehicle which was more than reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bighorn National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Little Bighorn National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Bighorn National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.