We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & excellent hiking nearby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Hotel Anna

Save Saved
You added Country Hotel Anna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Hotel Anna
Moldnupi 861, Hvolsvollur, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hvolsvollur
Wallingford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Quaint & excellent hiking nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Country Hotel Anna is nestled in the foothills of the nearby mountains. The hotel had an old-time quaintness about it and thick curtains to keep out the light. Although room 2 was a bit cramped, we enjoyed it very much. Dinner and breakfast is served at the hotel and this makes it very convenient because there are not many other places out in the country. If you like to hike, you can go behind the hotel, through the gates, where you can spend some time with friendly Icelandic horses. As we were starting our hike, we were met by a little terrier dog, who led us up the mountain to some beautiful Icelandic scenery, including a fabulous gorge with numerous waterfalls. If I were to visit Iceland again, I would definitely make Country Hotel Anna another visit. Make sure that you save a few hours to hike behind the hotel, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
78
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights (four people) rooms 6 and 7 next door to each other. Very nice rooms furnished with antique furniture .. full of character. Lobby area very nice warm and welcoming. We felt dinner was a but pricey for what it was but a great little hotel ... to be recommened. Take the time to find the indoor hot tub and sauna ... (entrance from outside well to the left of the front door) which does not seem very well advertised.

Room Tip: 6 and 7 have good views of mountains and horses and have their own door to the outside as well as an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

In a lovely area, waterfalls all around. Some good hiking nearby. The hotel itself was very clean. You can feel "Anna" in the hotel. You see her in the furniture, the artwork and even the food. We had room 1 right off the lobby. Can imagine when it is busier that room might be a pain due to noise. But it was quiet when we were there, and it does have the benefit of free wi fi working in the room. Service was friendly. We ate at their restaurant our first night. 50 GBP for two mains which came with soup of the day, bread and coffee. I also had a glass of wine. Food was fresh and very good quality. We stayed at several different establishments throughout our stay, and this was my favourite.

Room Tip: The rooms right off the lobby have the benefit of free wi fi
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Here we are 3 hours late for our lunch reservation having been Ice Climbing on a Glacier. Not just 1 person, but 14. They were great. We sampled the Lamb and veg soup and a wonderful lunch of medallions of lamb and veg. Seasoned in a delicate way the food was delicious and filling for this ravenous group of climbers. With wine coffee and dessert we were ready to face the rest of the day's adventures. Thanks for a great experience.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First night of a week on Iceland, very welcoming and wholesome food.

Comfortable and simple rooms, rustic dining rooms, hotel set in a farmyard.

Just off the circular ring road around the island so ideally situated for a circumnavigation trip.

Charming host and hostess, great overall feel, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stopped here for a meal between the Glacier walk and looking for the Northern Lights. The food was included in the cost of the combined walk and search for the lights. The meal consisted of Lamb soup or stew and a desert of Skyr. Both were very good and I would recomend the Skyr.

The location is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stopped at Hotel Anna for dinner as part of our tour excursion. We did not spend the night. I'm not certain what hotel guests do there since there is very little around the hotel. For dinner, bread and butter, and water were served prior to the main course of a lamb stew or a tomato soup vegetarian alternative. Both were very good and one could have as many servings as they wanted. Coffee and tea were available during dinner and were part of our dinner package. Alcoholic beverages and soda were available on a pay as you go basis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Address: Moldnupi 861, Hvolsvollur, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Hotel Anna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.