We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite accomodation in Iceland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fljotshlid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Fljotshlid to your Saves list
Hotel Fljotshlid
861 Hvolsvelli | Smaratun, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hvolsvollur B&B and Inns
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Our favorite accomodation in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This review is for the hotel. This was a beautiful and refreshing change after three days in noisy Reykjavik. The country setting is both beautiful and relaxing. The hotel rooms are big, quiet, and clean. There is a great sun room at the end of the hallway which was fun to hang out and read. You can walk directly from the hotel room to the lobby & restaurant area without going outside. Great for when it's raining. The hotel information explained that the hotel used to be a cow barn. The lobby has a pool table.

Staff was very nice. The hotel is outside of town, so we were skeptical of eating there. We were shocked at how good the food turned out to be (see photos). Dinner was delicious. We were told the restaurant closed at 20:00.

The included breakfast was the usual Icelandic fare, but served in a much bigger area.

The hotel has horsebackriding, but we arrived to late to take advantage. We were able to take walks on the country roads around the area which was very scenic. There are rabbits, sheep, horses, and pigs on the farm you can also visit. There is a hot tub in a secluded location. Would have loved to stay another day here and gone horsebackriding and chilled out.

Room Tip: Facing away from the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stumbled across this hotel when our stomaches were empty following plenty of hiking. The food was well presented good sized portions and the set menu of wild mushroom soup, salmon with mango chutney and icelandic pancakes for dessert was good value. Perfect relaxed dinning. The staff were friendly and helpful. A happy evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had no experience in staying on a farm and was a little worried what we were getting into. We did not stay in the farmhouse we actually stayed in one of their cabins they have on the same property. The cabin was quite small but had everything we needed and a nice full size bed, bathroom with a shower and a sitting area. We loved our stay here which turned out to be very peaceful and private. There is also a hottub on the property for the guests which we took advantage of. The hottub was near the guest house in a very secluded area. The breakfast was similar to those of similar hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The cabins they have on the property are very private and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This review is for the HOTEL. This is not the Smaratun Guesthouse which is attached to the farmhouse. They are both on the same farm. (There seems to be some confusion since some of the reviews for the guesthouse are really for the hotel). The Hotel is a separate building. The rooms are all off a central corridor. They have bathrooms. At one end of the building is the reception and and dining area where breakfast is served. The rooms were clean and basic and have windows that look out onto the farm and the surrounding mountains. The bathroom is typical of most hotels in Iceland. The breakfast was simple but good. The cost is very reasonable. We paid 15,400 ISK. The farm is about 12km east of Hvollsvollur on the 261 road. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fljotshlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fljotshlid

Address: 861 Hvolsvelli | Smaratun, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fljotshlid is a pleasant country hotel in the region of Fljotshlid, one of the most beautiful farming districts in Iceland. It's located 13 km from the town Hvolsvollur. The hotel has 14 spacious rooms with private bathroom and cable TV in each room. Breakfast is included in the price. Unlimited wireless internet access is free for hotel guests. A hot tub is located on-site. The hotel is located on the working farm Smaratun and a stay there will give you a touch of the daily life in Icelandic countryside, with closeness to nature and local culture. Smaratun intends to operate sustainable, bearing in mind the interests of future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fljotshlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fljotshlid Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fljotshlid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.