We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thine be the glory...... Open thine eyes Mark!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skogar Museum

Skogar Museum
Skogar, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
+354 487 8845
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Thine be the glory...... Open thine eyes Mark!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife suggested we pop in to this museum on the way back to Reyjkavik from the amazing Jukulsarlon lagoon. I was not thrilled at the idea. I had just seen one of the wonders of the World after all.

Folk museums are not really my bag and the start, a few spinning wheels, three wooden spoons and a small fishing boat did not realy do much for me. Thank goodness for wifi and the chance to see if Middlesbrough had signed anybody in the Transfer Window.

BUT THEN... strains of Thine be the Glory wafted on the chill air from the small Church. Memories of my Methodist upbringing and my Grandfather, the Revd Arthur Bailey came flooding back. But best of all was the man who was playing the old organ. Mr Tommason an amazing 92 year old and the man who had amassed much of the museum. It was a pleasure to meet him and I started to look at the museum with different eyes. The old houses and school were excellent as was the Transport and Communications Museum. Hey, this sprightly old chap really had a vision.

It was definitely worth 1500 KR per person just to meet Mr T. My respect to him and this very good museum which really is very good and is definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    39
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The first outdoor folk museum I can remember visiting as a child was St Fagan's near Cardiff in Wales and learning my how my own grandparents' families lived and worked on the land.
Fifty years later and I still enjoy finding out how people lived and worked in different countries.
I am so grateful to the people who collected and saved so many buildings and artefacts.

If you are visiting Southern Iceland, give yourself time to enjoy so many aspects of this fascinating museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a small open air museum outside Reykjavik that it would be a pity to miss. Many everyday things used by the Icelandic folk over the centuries were displayed here, it demonstrated their creativity in using the limited resources they have to cater to their basic living. Very informative and interesting. This is probably the best folk museum I've ever visited.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Turf houses, Transportation, and a lot of "stuff"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

There are three parts to this museum. First, there are buildings that have been preserved. These include a church, a school, and some turf houses. The turf houses are especially interesting.

There is also a museum of transportation. Cars, a plane, lots of saddles and other horse equipment. The person who started the museum collected communication devices. There must be one of every "ham" radio ever made, and hundreds of cell phones. This building also has a nice café and a large gift shop with a nice selection of books.

The third museum is a lot of old stuff. Tools, spinning wheels, much of it is a jumble. There is a Viking (I think) boat and some good displays on fishing, but this part of the museum needs some organization.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The open air museum: turf farm houses that were reconstructed are really cute and woth the visit if you are in the area. The indoors one need a lot of improvement. They have a lot of thing's too show, but it is poorly organized, so everything looks crammed and uninteresting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skogar Museum also viewed

 

Been to Skogar Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skogar Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.