We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAsic small hotel, clean and adequate, not fancy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edinborg Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Edinborg Guesthouse to your Saves list
Edinborg Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Road 242, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hvolsvollur B&B and Inns
Leverett, MA
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“BAsic small hotel, clean and adequate, not fancy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a small hotel (roughly 6 double bed rooms), plenty of parking, relatively rustic and basic. The first issue you may have to deal with is finding the place. We had the address as Lambafell, Hvolsvollur, Iceland. So, we went to Hvolsvollur and asked around about where this might be. None of the local establishments knew about it. We were lucky to find an information center (which itself was not so easy to find) in Hvolsvollur and asked there. They knew were it was and directed us to travel 40 km further to the east. We did that and eventually found the place. Had we been looking after hours in the information center, we might have had a problem. A local phone call was provided so if need be we would have been able to call. So, if you decide to visit this little hotel, be sure to know where it is.

The accommodations are quite rustic. The doors are thin and sounds from other rooms travel freely. The rooms are clean and the basic facilities adequate. The beds are comfortable. One person seems to take full responsibility for the place, cleaning, dealing with linens, washing the sheets, etc. And, this same person takes care of providing a very basic breakfast. At the time of our visit the person in charge was from Russia, spoke adequate English and was very pleasant. A laptop (with printer) is available in the small entry room and this can be used by guests without charge.

This consisted of some cheese slices, some sliced meat (likely ham) some vegetables, cereals, some yogurt, two kinds of juice, and a coffee machine. If you want coffee with milk, select black coffee and use the milk that is provided for the cereal; otherwise, you will get some non-dairy from the machine if you ask for latte or coffee with ‘milk’. The coffee is reasonable and there is no limit.

It appears that this properly is in transition. There is a large wooden log-style house not far away and the plan is to make that also a guesthouse for next year. This would likely be more up-scale addition to the overall property and may have a higher price. We talked with one couple who stayed there (one room was available) and they described a much bigger room, but the plan is to make several smaller rooms from the larger ones. There are also two cabins on the property and these are also available. They too are rather rustic, but looked rather nice and are separated from the main guesthouse by about 50 meters. Those who stayed there were happy with what they found.

If you would be satisfied with a rather basic and Spartan place, you would likely be satisfied with this one. it is acceptably clean and that counts for a lot.

Room Tip: You might want to opt for one of the two cottages. They are very close and quite pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I've just tried contacting this hotel by phone and email but can't reach them. I phoned someone at the neighbouring Lambafell Bed & Breakfast who said they were closed since the volcano erupted (although the previous review is from January so I'm not sure).

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinborg, Manager at Edinborg Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
I´m sorry you got no response to your inquiry to Guesthouse Edinborg. I´m not sure what went wrong but the guesthouse is open. To contact us please either e-mail to nupakot@emax.is or call 354 846 1384.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

If you are looking to get away from the bustling city, this is your place! Nestled at the foot of a glacier and volcano, the views are beyond amazing. There are two private cottages and a main house with 6 guestrooms. The quaint charm of the guestrooms and the coziness of the shared living area will make you feel right at home. Helga, the owner, is truly delightful. My husband and I will be returning for sure ... don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

This is a wonderful little hotel with a homey, cottage-like feel -- very warm and relaxing. They offer two private cottages and 6 rooms in the main building. We stayed in Room 2, a corner room with 2 windows affording gorgeous views of the deep green, mist covered countryside. As a selective hotel visitor, I would highly recommend this hotel; my husband and I were only sorry we couldn't stay longer, as it would make a perfect romantic getaway.

The room was very comfortable, with plenty of room to move about. The walls and flooring are entirely light wood, creating a very cosy, cabin-like feel. The bathroom was small and basic -- nothing fancy but perfectly adequate, with plenty of hot water (the bathroom door stuck a bit so there was a slight problem closing the door). As with most rural Icelandic hotels, best bring your own washcloth and soap, as only towels and hand soap are provided.

The hotel has a very family-run feel, although the owners live 1/2 kilometer away so are not in your way. They provide free wireless internet (if you have your own computer), and a computer is available in the upstairs common area.

Breakfast is served between 8 and 10 a.m., and a good option to get with your room as there are few places to find food nearby. Just 3 km down the road is a larger hotel (also nice though not quite as cosy) with a good restaurant for supper.

AREA:
A few minutes' drive down Rout 1 brings you to the impressive waterfall Skogarfloss. We hiked up the hill and had a lovely 2 hour (roundtrip) walk up the river, following a well-worn footpath. The walk was hugely enjoyable and the endless stunning views were well worth the effort.

A bit farther down Rout 1 (about 15 minutes' drive) is a glacier. Drive down the gravel road (a bit bumpy but our dinky rental car had no problems navigating the rocks). Turn left to reach a parking lot, from which you can walk straight up to the giant sheets of ice. Tours are also available to take you out onto the glacier for various lengths of time -- they looked like good fun.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Came across this nice old guest house. The family that runs it was very nice and friendly. Our room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was also simple but we never left hungry. A very nice thing about the place is that it is located right beneath a glacier that can be seen from the guest house.

  • Liked — The glacier view.
  • Disliked — Nothing that I disliked.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edinborg Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinborg Guesthouse

Address: Road 242, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinborg Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the guesthouse we have 3 double rooms and 3 twin rooms, all with private bathrooms. Close to the guesthouse we have 2 cottages. In each cottage there is beds for 2 people, sleeping loft with mattresses on the floor and bed linen, bathroom and a small cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Edinborg Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinborg Guesthouse Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinborg Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.