We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights.....on the last night.....phew!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ranga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ranga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hella
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Northern Lights.....on the last night.....phew!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here in early November for 3 nights. Really lovely hotel and highly recommended.

Couple of very minor negatives (very minor though).....

Room size not huge although more than adequate....slightly larger room would have been preferable. Also, unexpectedly for a stay in Iceland, the room was too warm!! And as there is no air conditioning in the rooms the only way to lower the temperature is to open a window which is not the end of the world but a more precise method of temperature control would have been nice.

But they are the only negative points I can mention and the rest is all positive.

Excellent reception staff and very knowledgeable and welcoming.

Beautiful hotel with great facilities....the hot tubs were gorgeous.

Food was top notch....both breakfast and dinner.....great choice.

Good location and easy to find.

Not cheap - but then you are in Iceland so what do you expect?!? Nowhere is.

Northern Lights appeared on our last night and was the perfect ending to a great trip. Staff were on hand to let us know (during dinner) that there was some activity and then again later at night when we were back at our room to make sure we didn't miss the second appearance they called our room to give us the alert.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    181
    48
    19
    0
See reviews for
100
433
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for only one night at Ranga Hotel and wished it had been longer. Truly beautiful hotel, amazing room design - Asian Suite was stunningly decorated. Warm welcome from Frederic who also ensured guests were enjoying their dinner by passing through and stopping to chat. Reception staff incredibly helpful when we decided to book a morning activity at 10:30pm they managed to book it for us. Do have dinner at the restaurant, our food was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children under 12) stayed 4 nights on the Aurora offer in a deluxe room which consisted of a large double and sofa bed and beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi bath. There wasn't much room with the sofa bed out but that wasn't a problem as we didn't spend a huge amount of time in the room.

This is a very special hotel with an amazing restaurant - a massive choice at breakfasts and delicious dinners in the evening. Children could select from a children's menu or choose a smaller portion of an adult meal. Everyone who worked in the hotel was very friendly and helpful and we were very impressed that the hotel owner frequently went round the tables at dinner talking to guests.

The wake up service to see the Northern Lights at night worked very well (you tick a chart each day if you want to be woken up), but we actually saw our best viewing at 9.30pm.... dancing green and red lights lasting for over an hour.... absolutely amazing! It was lovely to sit in the hot tubs at night and watch the stars in the sky. We also made good use of the games room - a billiards room , board games and jigsaw puzzle - and borrowed DVDs to watch on the big screen in our room.

Ranga was a great base for exploring the nearby spectacular scenery. We didn't have a car but used the services of South Iceland Adventure on 2 days . Their superjeep tours were fabulous and included pick up from hotel Ranga. On our last day we paid them an extra fee and they transferred us back to the Blue lagoon after we had completed our tour. It made for a very full day but worked well for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Ranga and were greeted by very friendly reception staff. Our room was amazing and massive. The bed was huge, the bathroom with a spa bath was beautiful, bathrobes, slippers, loads of toiletries of every description, mini bar but very expensive prices to go with it, so we gave that a miss, beautifully clean throughout. Hot tup outside the room which was shared by other rooms. Went for happy hour and were greeted by the bartender from Hungary, what can we say about him, he was fabulous, nothing was too much trouble for him, he was polite friendly and really knew his job, helping me to choose the wine and the beer for my husband from the vast amount of beers on offer. Christmas beer went down well. Didn't eat from the restaurant, but had a bar snack of toastie and chips, very reasonable and tasty and very large. Beautiful chill out lounge upstairs. Breakfast in the morning was to die for, such a vast choice of everything, even make your own pancakes and if you felt like it you could pour yourself a measure of cod liver oil. We would definately come back here on our next trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights from 19 Nov 2013. The hotel is conveniently located for exploring the Golden Circle, Thorsmork, Solheimajokull glacier and the waterfalls of Urridafoss, Seljarlandsfoss and Skogarfoss as well as the black sandy beach. The hotel is clean and decorated to a high standard with three outside hot tubs. We stayed in room 34 and were lucky enough to have one of the hot tubs right outside our room. We had dinner here both nights and the food was fantastic on both occasions. The hotel runs an 'aurora watch' where you can opt to be woken up to see the aurora borealis if you are lucky enough to be there when the aurora is visible. The hotel has a lounge relaxing area and a bar down stairs. I would say the hotel is perhaps a little on the expensive side considering the extent of its facilities but only just. During our 10 day stay in Iceland we stayed in a variety of hotels, lodges and guest houses. Some more expensive than Ranga others not. In comparison the places where we paid a little more had spa facilities, were very modern/futuristic with good bars and also offered the possibility of seeing the aurora (but with no wake up call). Whilst I did like the totally different feel of Ranga I felt it lacked some of the 'add ons' which you would usually expect for a hotel in this price range. Whilst the hotel does have three hot tubs outside they are basic hot tubs. Having said this I enjoyed sitting outside in the hot tub and have no complaints about the hotel or staff. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic so I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for room 34 if you would like a hot tub to be outside your room. Always opt to be woken up if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Great service and staff! The restaurant has excellent food.It is really nice that the hotel manager comes to every table during dinner to answer any questions. Accommodations are very well maintained and clean. Bathroom is impeccable. Location is about 1.5 hr from Reykjavik. It is a must to rent a car to get there. Will stay there again. We were not lucky to watch the aurora, but that's the way of nature, unpredictable. Don't expect 5 star hotel facilities, but trust me, you will not miss them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night in November. Like most people we were hoping to see the northern lights but the weather was not playing ball and it was incredibly cloudy and rainy - so alas no chance of a wake-up call but we still had an incredible time at this hotel, we stayed in a deluxe room looking out over the river (what we could see of it with the low-lying fog) which was opposite the 'hot pot' - which you have direct access to from your room.

The bedrooms are of a decent size, we did take a look in at a standard and it's well worth the upgrade, standard appears to look over the car park (not ideal if the NL do make an appearance) it's also quite a bit smaller.

Gorgeous whirlpool spa bath in all bedrooms, giant flatscreen TV if that's your sort of thing with a big catalogue of films to watch. Nice personal touches like a free postcard home to friend/family member and a full array of complimentary toiletries including bath salts.

The building itself once you're inside reminds me of a Swiss ski chalet - all decked out in wood. It's very warming and accommodating once you're inside and there's a lovely bar with some very friendly waiters who know a thing or two about making a decent cocktail. Recommend going to happy hour - 4-6.30pm especially if you like beer and wine!

The living room area upstairs above the bar is nice and cosy, feel it's missing a nice big roaring log fire but I guess you can't have it all.

All in all had an amazing time and would love to one day go back. Price-wise I have to admit for the £200+ it does seem on the slightly steep side - while it is lovely, I have stayed in higher-quality accommodation for less money, and this is out of season. Saying that, please don't let that put you off - accommodation like this is rare to find and I wholeheartedly recommend it - and if you get to glimpse those amazing NL then of course it's worth every penny :)

Room Tip: Treat yourself and go for the deluxe room. Means you are closer to the hot pots and of course you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.