We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food, Service and Accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ranga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ranga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hella
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service and Accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

No sign of the Northern lights sadly; however our stay was wonderful and I'm sure we'll be back. :-)

Comfortable lounge areas, a well stocked bar and fabulous food. Topped off with wonderful service (a special thanks to Lukas who also had a sense of humour and looked after us well - always ready with a chilled bottle of our preferred wine)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    181
    48
    19
    0
See reviews for
99
433
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing i stoo much trouble. If you do not see anything you like on the menu they will try to find you something you do like, although if you don't like whats on the menu then I pity you. The food is incredible. It is expertly prepared and served and every mouthful provides pleasure as the mixture of tastes and textures simply blow your mind. Our room was very spacious, extremely clean and very quiet. It was blissful. To top it all we even saw the Northern Lights during our stay thanks to the hotel policy of informing you whenever they appear should you so wish. The hotel and the meals wee worth every penny, and I cannot think of a nicer place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at Ranga over two nights and can say it was of the five hotels in Iceland we stayed at the best. Accommodation was great with well appointed bathroom - giant bath to boot. The staff were helpful and made our stay a delight. Food was wonderful but needless to say a bit more pricey than UK but we knew that before we went to this great country. Ranga is so convenient for travel in the south. The light show on the Sunday was as promised by the manager the most humbling and fantastic experience of our lives. Thanks Ranga

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ranga for 4 nights in October 2013.
We cannot reccmmend this hotel enough.
We had a delux room which was very clean and comfortable.
The Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was very good.
To top off our stay we saw the Northern lights in all their Splendour sat in the hot tub with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are larger than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a bad stay at Hotel Hekla I was happy to be at Hotel Ranga. The food was very good, service was fantastic, and the room was clean and wonderful. Each room has a cozy porch outside where you may be able to sit and watch the sunset or the aurora (depending on the direction you are facing). The shower took a bit of getting used to since it was a large tub with a hand sprayer, but the bathroom was very nicely kept.

The breakfast was also fantastic, offering eggs, bacon, potatoes, pastries, cereal, fruit, and waffles. There was something for everyone, even myself who can't eat dairy and has trouble with bakers yeast. I also had trouble working a few things in the room and the staff would walk to my room right then to help me out. A breath of fresh air!

I also enjoyed working on the 1000 piece puzzle in the game area. I just wish I had known there was a game area on day 1.

Room Tip: I stayed right next to the lobby and thought it would be noisy but it was not. Nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I'll start by saying when me and my partner booked this hotel for two nights six months prior to traveling I received a email to say they had been a problem with my booking and the amount we had been told was in correct and would have to pay a further €100 I emailed the hotel manager who in formed me we wouldn't have to pay anymore and the original price still stood. Happy customer. We didn't use the restaurant as we were out morning until night so ate on the way back from our travels. But did try the burgers in the bar and these were amazing. We liked the mini bar in the room as we used this to chill our duty free champagne for the hot tub. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice. Last thing I want to mention is my partner left his keys and a few other items in the room once we had left for Reykjavik. Long story short a member of the hotel staff brought them to our new hotel for us as they were visiting. Me and my partner have fallen in love with Iceland and when we come back we will be staying at the ranga.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I immediately jumped into the hot pot, when we arrived there. I had to, without any hesitance.
This hotel was a real discovery, we came there due to a hint from another traveller on our way.
And we enjoyed so much, after our tour in the highlands and being out of civilisation for some days....and then: nice food, warm beds, a wonderful hot pot on the terrace...
Like heaven, and a real quiet one! Relaxation garantueed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.