We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Shoes Allowed?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hrauneyjar Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hrauneyjar Guesthouse to your Saves list
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sprengisandur road 26, Hella 851, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hella
chapel hill, north carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“No Shoes Allowed?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Considering half of the "hotel" is basically a hostel for budget minded campers/college students, that condition seemed to be over the top. No TV or phone, and no wakeup either. Dinner and breakfast were below par. Room was clean, and very basic. Shower was new, and shock upon shocks even had toiletries! Our guide told us it was formerly a barracks for hydro-electric workers, and it shows. Also, its not near to a blessed thing if you want to go to a convenience or wine store.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    14
    7
    14
See reviews for
3
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay near the highlands and pay less than €200, this is your only option. They know this so they charge €90 for a tiny, unclean room with disgustingly old linens. It's sort of fine for one night but definitely stay no longer than necessary. Breakfast is fine. There is a tv room with sky tv which was really wonderful, though the remote controller was a bit sticky.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room was tiny but clean, staff was nice and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in August, during an adventure tour of southern Iceland. I think every alternative was booked, or we would have checked out. The pluses: the staff are very friendly, the place is clean, the rooms are warm, and there's a restaurant. The minuses: the rooms are TINY! Like a bad dorm room. The bathroom is TINY! The prices in the restaurant are outrageous!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Our worst accomodation in Iceland.Me and my friend stayed in the separated section (L-House), 3-4 Kilometers far from the guesthouse, that it is a sort of big container, with shared bathroom and kitchen. The first nigt there were other 12-13 people and we shared all together just ONE SHOWER!!! The owners were building other three shower, not still working. The workers left their tools all around, on the floor, on the sinks, on the sofa, and this shows their consideration for their guests. The rooms are the poorest you can imagine: there are only two matrasses, and nothing else: no chairs, no closet, no console, no clothes hanger. Fortunately the second night we were alone, so it's been quiet better, but the property didn't offer any discount for this very bad situation. Along our stay in Iceland we stayed in several hostels, so we are not pretending people. Obviously no internet connection, intermittent water , congested drains, very thin walls.But what It really disappoints me at Hrauneyjar is the clair intention to save money even on the basic and cheapest things that it is common to find even in the hostels. This is ridiculous and incorrect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I've slept in the separated section of the guesthouse; it's like a container with a dormitory inside. It's quite smelly, the showers are mixed and there is no cover, so the lady may have some problems. The pressure of the water is not constant, it's not easy to have a shower.
In the kitchen most of the pots are old and very camping style. There is no insulation from noise in the rooms, the walls are like paper and the doors are very noisy so you can be waked up from people going to the bath during night.
Overall, it's quite decent if there are just few others guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hrauneyjar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hrauneyjar Guesthouse

Address: Sprengisandur road 26, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hrauneyjar Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hrauneyjar Highland Center (Halendismidstodin Hrauneyjum) is situated at the edge of the country’s most impressive and active volcanic area. It is the last stop before entering the vast and untouched interior of Iceland. Hrauneyjar is close to many of the most beautiful and popular tourist attractions in the highlands - including Landmannalaugar, Pjorsardalur, Mount Hekla, Sprengisandur, Veidivotn and Fjallabak. The vastness and lack of human impact on the surrounding area makes it truly one of the last places in Europe where freedom, natural beauty and solitude are combined in a breathtakingly powerful experience. Hrauneyjar Guesthouse offers 54 CAT I rooms with shared facilities (19 double and 35 twin), 20 CAT II double rooms with bathroom. L-House with 14 twin rooms with shared facilities. In addition Hrauneyjar offers a restaurant, sauna and petrol station. The hotel is well accessible by paved road all year round and is only 150 km from Reykjavik. We recommend guests that are planning on staying with us during Winter season to have a 4WD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hrauneyjar Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse Iceland/Hella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hrauneyjar Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.