We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - would recommend to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse at Hestheimar to your Saves list
Guesthouse at Hestheimar
Asahreppi, Hella 851, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hella B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing - would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here in mid Nov 2013. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with tea/coffee and cakes. Everyone was so friendly. We stayed in a cabin which was surrounded by snow with amazing views of Volcanos and mountains. The cabin was really nice.

We also paid for a cooked 3 course meal which was great and ate with other guests staying there.

Would definitely return without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in one of the small cottages and had a wonderful week. Breakfast was excellent. The parent beds were very good. The children's beds were a bit weak. There is not much room left when there are 4 beds in the small cottage, but it worked out fine.

We had problems with the WiFi which did not work very well at the cottage and initially not at all for some of us at the main building. They were very active in trying to fix it, which they were able to do at the main building (the access point was very outdated, they quickly had installed a new one and everything worked fine). At the cottage it was still very unreliable when we left. We had some leakage at the kitchen sink. Anyway, those are very small details and the people working there did there best to fix things.

Our daughter rode twice. She is experienced and was a bit disappointed that she wasn't allowed to go fast here and there (as they have horses that they keep very slow so that very inexperienced riders can use them), but still it was fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hospitality, very welcoming and helpful with excursion ideas. Lovely accommodation and breakfast. I got to see the northern lights from the hottub what could be better! Excellent location just off the 1 with the attractions of the south coast (waterfalls and glacier walking) all within 20-40 minutes away. Close to Hella for great meals at the Cafe Arhus. Can't wait for my return. What a lovely place and lovely people.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Glarus, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have just come back from my fourth stay at Hestheimar this year, 4 days of autumnal golden sunshine and excellent horse riding conditions - the staff was friendly as ever - though changing over the year - and the food delicious as one has got used over the years. The cosy room in the main building provided a comfortable retreat for the few hours not spent on horseback
After dinner i enjoyed the starlight and full moon in the hotpot... dreams came true even without northern lights this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This is located a really convenient distance from the main city. The breakfast is really amazing, with fresh breads, lovely jams, some hot eggs. Our room was the apartment next to the horse barn. It had a nice little kitchenette, a bedroom with 2 full beds and a day bed in the family room. The family room also had a couch and nice coffee table.

A few drawbacks to the place were that the curtains were not really effective in blocking out the light, and the horseflies were quick to come in through the front door. But these were minor annoyances.

We did go horseback riding one day, and it was fun! The ponies were quite short and docile. The guide knew her stuff, and put up with me as a novice rider. It was the classic Icelandic Dude Ranch!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was just ok-about average, We shared a bath with the staff girl from Switzerland. Room had no sink, most other hotels with shared bath do include a private sink, but no big deal or problem. Perhaps I should have splurged on a private bath room, they are larger too. Hotpot is a plastic model, but the view is superb. Horses about 15' away browsing grass while we soak.

You need at least 2 nights here, that way you can go horseriding. We are no experts but it's lots of fun. Icelandic horses are famous for the tölt, a unique gallop style. A major reason for stopping here is to ride. If you are just stopping for a night, this is too far off the beaten trail and there is nothing nearby. Our guide was from Austria, very friendly but only mediocre English.

The owner, Leah, is very friendly and is there for BF and dinner. She is avid horse girl and well traveled. I think she must speak about 100 languages. She was chatting everybody in various tongues.

The best BF and and food of our trip. The cook (also from Switz- the boyfriend of hostess) does a great job. Homemade muffins, cookies all day long, fried eggs, definitely a step up BF from average hotel fare. Since you are middle of nowhere, dinner with the family is highly recommended. They started with salmon and other appetizers, then eventually moved to leg of lamb (don't be in a hurry-your not at McDonalds, this is an all evening affair), and finished with homemade Icelandic skyr for desert (yogurt-ice-cream-cottage cheese cousin). The dinner was great, very filling, very traditional. All the family comes up to the guesthouse to eat with the customers, so this doesn't feel like a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werl, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I arrived by chance at Hestheimar and was welcomed very warmly. My room was in a nice decorated cottage with a great and comfortable kitchen and living room. All the people were very friendly and helpful. If you like to ride this is a very recommendable adress. For the first time after 35 years I sat on a horse and they chose one of these friendly nice horses and I enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse at Hestheimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Address: Asahreppi, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 hot tubs. One outside the main building, the other by the Guesthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse at Hestheimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse At Hestheimar Iceland/Hella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse at Hestheimar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.