We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clinical, but in a good sense” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon Clinic

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Lagoon Clinic
Save
You added Blue Lagoon Clinic to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grindavik 240, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grindavik
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clinical, but in a good sense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This sure is a clinic, and it does what it says on the tin, gives you a restful space to wallow in the mud and eat nice food and relax, and you can walk along to the Blue Lagoon complex just a few minutes walk away. It is great. I have put three for the value for money because nice though it is, it is very expensive. I know Iceland is supposed to be expensive, but it is still a shock to get the bill. Some warnings. We drove there late at night, actually pickin up the hire car at the airport after midnight, and we drove to the Blue Lagoon, and round and round for hours, really til 3.30 in the morning until finally just by chance on the main road we saw a tiny little sign on a wooden board that said 'clinic' and we were so exhausted - me and my partner and her mother on an eightyith birthday trip to Iceland - that we nearly didn't turn down that road, but luckily we eventually found the place. And ... the receptionist was there waiting for us. That indicates the service level. They were very friendly - given that Icelanders like to encourage you to get on with things yourself rather than be cossetted - and it was a great stay. Make use of the bathing!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    90
    33
    10
    2
See reviews for
45
219
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed here for a night in October. We got a hire car from the airport and drove here, it was only a 15 min drive. The clinic is 600m walk from the main Blue Lagoon. There are I believe about 15 rooms here for hotel guests.

There is a private lagoon in the back which provides the most sensational experience. Although you get free passes to the main lagoon which are worth 30 euro a piece, the private area here is far better.

During the day from about 10am to 6 the private lagoon is used for treatments, before and after this it is for hotel guests only. In the night there might only be a few other people there giving you almost exclusive access to the waters. There is silica on the sides and the private area stretches out, the further you go the less man-made it becomes. The water is about 40 degrees celcius.

Breakfast here is the standard buffet, very clean and very fresh.

We ventured over to the main lagoon using our free passes the next day early in the morning. By 11am the tour buses had come and kids were playing around. All the tourists do ruin the peace of the place. My advice is to stay here and just pop in to see the main lagoon, spend your time in the early morning 8-10 and in the evening 8-10 over here in the private lagoon.

The rooms themselves are of the IKEA style, very simple and functional. The only drawback was the lack of amenities, the shower get was from a dispenser and there was no conditioner which is essential with such salty water. Conditioner is a very serious point here, your hair will be sticking up for 4 or 5 days if you don't take precautions with the abrasive salty water.

I thought this place was a gem, it was well worth staying here and I will not forget the time I spent here with the moonlight bouncing off the pool floating along on a tire....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This place was just amazing and one of the memorable places I've ever stayed at!

The best thing is access to the clinics private lagoon after hours, which I think was after 8-10pm, and very early in the morning. The silica mud is much deeper and softer than in the main lagoon, it's private and best of all you can go at night which makes for a surreal experience especially in the dead of winter! You enter the lagoon from inside the building, there is a door which you open to the outside while you are still in the lagoon. I will always remember bathing in the lagoon at night with cold air -20C and feeling hot because I was in the water, iceicles forming on my eyelashes, steam all around on top of the water because of the temperature difference, and if you're really lucky like I was, you can look up and see the northern lights. Winter is the time to go I don't think it would be the same if it was summer.

Also really nice is the walk from the clinic to the main lagoon. Staying at the clinic gives you a free pass to the main lagoon. On the way there were frozen ponds and snow capped twisted black rocks, really something special.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I took a two week trip somewhere of the beaten path, and that's what Iceland is. Spent the last few days of my trip at the only hotel near the Blue Lagoon Clinic. Hotel only has a few rooms but ammenities and furnishings were very comfortable. Just walking distance through lava rocks and you were at the adjacent Spa. The spa has its own restaurant where I had a reservation for dinner. The weather one evening was horrendous but a waiter took his car and drove around for me so I could come to dinner not looking like I just got out of the pool. Given its remote surroundings, everything was wonderful. You feel like you're on another planet with dark lava rocks surrounding you off your own private patio. I would recommend a few days of rest and leisure, you get free entrance to the spa with any massage treatment. I would highly recommend the massages they give on the water. They cover you in a warm wet blanket while you are lying on a floating mattress, soothingly massaging you to satisfaction. Loved it and will definitely be back again many times.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

The name 'clinic' makes it sound a bit odd. I mean I guess technically it is a clinic, but it's also a very nice hotel 600m from the Blue Lagoon. You get free entry to the Lagoon with your stay. The rooms are large and reasonably stylish, with quite nice views. The lagoon is about 30 minutes from Reyjavik and 10 minutes from the international airport. Service isn't terribly attentive, but the included breakfast is nice and a good opportunity to sample Skyr yogurt.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is not really a hotel but rooms with hotel services in a treatment clinic. The location is not on the pick up route for many adventures around iceland but is on site for the blue lagoon if that is a main reason for your stay in iceland. There is only the tourist shop on site and other shops and resturants are £40 away return or a 4 mile walk, cycle ride.

There is tea in the room but you have to walk to the cafe for free coffee and any milk. only 3 minutes....There is free access to the lagoon and to the fitness centre on site as well to the 2 bicyles. You only get one key to the room so you have to make arrangements if you are doing separate activities. The food for breakfast is healthy and fresh. You have to book if you wish to have lunch or dinner on site but as there is oftne some left over you can ask later than they say.
The hotel is in the middle of a moon landscape but with views of the northern lights at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Highly recommended. My husband and I stayed at the Blue Lagoon Clinic on the last night of our 8 day trip to Iceland in June 2009. While it was the most expensive place we stayed during our trip, it was also one of the most comfortable, memorable and unique. Immaculate room with posh yet comfortable modern furnishings and heated tile floor in the bathroom. The best part is the private lagoon available to guests from 8am - 10am and 8pm - 10pm. While the main Blue Lagoon was a fun experience, the private lagoon was amazing. Warmer water, fewer people, more silica mud settled on the bottom of the lagoon. It was an excellent way to end our trip and relax before the flight back to the US.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lagoon Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Clinic

Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Lagoon Clinic 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Iceland/Grindavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.