We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, true pampering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon Clinic

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Lagoon Clinic
Save
You added Blue Lagoon Clinic to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grindavik 240, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value, true pampering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Lagoon Clinic for one night, located 600 meters from the actual Blue Lagoon. At first glance, it does not seem cheap at around 190 euros for two people; however, if you do the math, it's not that bad. The rooms are quite big for European standards, tastefully decorated and with a great view over the lava fields. The bathroom is simple but considering you are at the Blue Lagoon, it's not like you need a big bath. A simple but healthy Nordic breakfast is included. But here come the real advantage: you get access to the Blue Lagoon on the day of arrival and departure which is worth 33 euros per person per day. On top of that, the clinic has its own lagoon which is fairly big and open in the morning and evening when the big lagoon is closed. This is a great way to avoid the crowds as only the clinic's guests (which has only 15 rooms) are allowed. It's divine. They have floating devices so you can look at the sunset and stars as you're clay mask is soaking into skin. If you have some extra cash to spend, book a facial in the Blue Lagoon's Spa - simply heaven.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    101
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
49
236
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel 4 out of 5, location 1 out of 5.
Stayed here for one night as part of a trip to Iceland. Chose here for the same reasons as many people state that if you plan a visit to the lagoon, its not actually that much more expensive than other hotels if you take into account that you get free/ included access to the blue lagoon with your stay.
On the plus side;
• Stylish hotel- minimalist Icelandic/ Scandinavian style
• Hotel has its own blue lagoon which is open to hotel guests 8- 10 pm and 9- 11am, very handy
However;
• Please note that the hotel is located very near the power plant of the lagoon- its not so much the visual proximity of the power plant that’s the concern, it was the very strong sulphur smell. Maybe we were unlucky in the direction of the wind, but it has to be said that the smell outside the hotel is over – whelming. Inside it is still possible to smell the sulphurous air.
• Sparse room in terms of 2 tea bags and that’s it. Plus no blue lagoon products in the bathroom ! Given that they do a range of products at the lagoon, and the high hotel price, we thought they should have been more generous with in room items like coffee/ milk/ and bathroom items.

On balance, I cannot unfortunately recommend this hotel. If it were cited away from the power plant it would not suffer from the over bearing sulphurous smell, but it isn’t. I unfortunately have to advise to visit the lagoon but stay somewhere else so you escape the smell.

Room Tip: Away from power plant if the wind is coming from that direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here the last night of our Iceland vacation. After sight-seeing & city life, it's a serene place to relax and unwind. Our room was spacious, warm, clean & the views are spectacular; breakfast was plentiful. Upon arrival we were given a ticket for the big, public Blue Lagoon, just a 10-min walk away through the lava fields. We went there, enjoyed bathing in the lagoon & had a nice dinner at the Lava Restaurant (they like you to make reservations, but it wasn't packed full). Next day we enjoyed the quiet, private lagoon at the Clinic Hotel.

BONUS: lucky us! A magnificent northern lights display & the hotel reception called our room at 11pm to say it was happening so we didn't miss it.

PROBLEM: Our taxi driver from the Reykjavik bus depot took 2 tries to find the hotel -- he claimed he didn't know it was there (it's been there for ~8yrs I think).
SOLUTION: There is a shuttle from both Reykjavik & the airport to the hotel. We took it to the airport when we left -- very easy to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As with almost everywhere we went in Iceland, the welcome was warm and service was friendly and relaxed. The decor here is simple, almost spartan. If you like Scandi design you will love its clean, pure lines; if you don't, you may find it a little stark. The ground floor rooms are warm, spacious and very comfortable, with doors opening out onto small patios and spectacular views of the raw beauty of the lava fields.

The room price includes complimentary admission to the Blue Lagoon which is about 10 minutes walk away but the hotel also has its own private lagoon. Although this is reserved for treatments at certain times of day, it is available for all hotel guests at others and is certainly much quieter than the rather touristy Blue Lagoon proper.

Breakfast is included in the price and includes a good variety of breads, fruit and cereals as well as more unusual fare such as pickled herring. Tea and coffee are available throughout the day and lunch and dinner can be ordered in advance, though you can easily wander over to one of the eateries at the Blue Lagoon itself.

We stayed here on our first night in Iceland, which meant we quickly got into a suitably chilled state of mind for the rest of our holiday, but I suspect it would work even better as a final stop, especially as it is less than half an hour's drive from Keflavik airport.

Note: The hotel is part of a clinic dealing with skin conditions. If that bothers you then this probably isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

we recently took an adventurist trip to Iceland and didn't know what to expect with it being our first visit to the country. we stayed at the blue lagoon clinic inn, in Grindavik.
the staff was friendly, helpful and more than accommodating.
the lagoon was unique and very relaxing. the view was exquisite. lunch and dinner at the lava restaurant was delicious.
the facility and the room at the inn was very peaceful and the bed was very comfortable.
the blue lagoon made this the best trip we have had up to date.
visiting the blue lagoon is a must while traveling to Iceland.
i would highly recommend visiting the blue lagoon for everyone.
i would definitely return to visit the blue lagoon again, but i wish we had never left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The spa and locker rooms are first rate. The facility was planned arond the natural resources and the layout of the facility is quite convenient.
Rooms are clean and dormitory style. They are perfect for sleeping.
It is a long way from the airport but worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed one night at the Clinic. Our room overlooked the moss covered volcanic lava. It was quiet and private and a great place to unwind. Our room is clean and comfortable. The room temperature is comfortable. We had access to the private lagoon and that is the best part of staying at the Clinic! It was as if we had the place all to ourselves! If you want to go to the public lagoon, you can get a free pass from the front desk. Also, borrow the swimsuit and robe from the front desk to save your suits from the minerals from the pools!

If you order lunch from the front desk, you get a great buffet for a very reasonable $20.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lagoon Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Clinic

Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Grindavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Lagoon Clinic 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Iceland/Grindavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.