We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, nice, traditional food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salthusid

Salthusid
Stampholsvegi 2, 240, Grindavik, Iceland
+3544269700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 restaurants in Grindavik
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Storås
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good service, nice, traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We dined here for several days in May 2011 - it is a family friendly, cosy place with good service. The meny isn't the most exiting, but the food is definetly tasty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    38
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“stunning food quality and ambience best in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I took a group of 40 students and staff here last week. The food was superb, I have been travelling to Iceland for 8 years and it was by far the best food I have ever eaten. We had a buffet lunch of mushroom and bacon soup, broccoli soup with fresh bread (reg topped up), salad, cod gratin with vegetables, potatoes and the most delicious lamb i have ever eaten. The cabin has a lovely romantic feel to it and is on the new coastal road to south Iceland so perfectly situated near to Hveragerdi and Blue Lagoon. Torlakur made us a fantastic lunch that the students will never forget. Takk Fyrir.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best place to eat if you are in Grindavik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good points
- Fantastic tasty meat, I had lamb fillet and my partner had the 'catch of the day' which was plaice
- Really appreciate the bread basket which was free of charge
- Beautiful restaurant, warm atmosphere
- Friendly staff
- Quick service

Bad points
- Quite expensive but standard for Iceland

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hands down the best fish I have ever eaten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had an early flight out so transferred to the Northern Light Inn for our last night. We had heard that the food there was not its best feature and after the posh nosh at Ranga we were looking for some good, hearty fresh fish - we wanted to "eat like icelanders" and Salthusid came highly recommended by our Bradt guidebook. Grindavik is a fishing port and the fish of the day here is said to be about as fresh as you're going to find anywhere.

The guidebook mentioned that the restaurant was open from 11, but it certainly wasn't the day that we showed up, we were told by a woman at the local petrol station that it opened at 5pm, so we went back later on. Salthusid is more of a bar/restaurant than an out and out eaterie, and the decor is like a cross between Austrian ski-chalet and American roadhouse - we were led through the bar (where there was sport showing on a big screen) to a cosy little dining room and shown a small but well formed menu. It was early in the evening, so there weren't many other diners, so the atmosphere was hard to judge, but our waitress was very friendly and helpful.

We were both convinced by our guidebook to have the fish of the day for a main but were torn by the offering of salt cod - for which Grindavik is famous. We asked whether we might have a salt cod starter and after a quick chat with the chef that was deemed no problem at all.

The food arrived after about 5-10 minutes. A really good sized chunk of fish with a light crust on top and a simple butternut squash puree side. I've not had salt cod before, so can't compare this to other identical meals but I can only say that it was absolutely sublime - the fish had such a rich flavour, perfect bite and a firm but juicy texture completely unlike anything I've had in the UK and better even than the cod Sarah had at Hotel Ranga the previous night.

After our rapturous response to the starter, the chef brought out the main course himself - Halibut fresh from the sea the previous day. Again, simply presented with a baked potato and salad on a huge plate this was properly gorgeous food. I'm not easily filled up, but neither of us had a chance of fitting a dessert in on top of these two cracking courses, so we left, happy and determined to give this place a glowing review - the meal cost us 13,000 Icelandic Kronor or about £78 for two courses, two (large!) glasses of white wine and my driver's soft drinks.

In the UK I'd be very happy to pay that for food of this quality. In Iceland, where we'd got used to paying double that and leaving the table hungry that has to mark this place down as an absolute winner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“good option if in blue lagoon area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

near blue lagoon, car park, good food.
Has some food options which are not as expensive as most reataurants in iceland which is a welcome relief on the wallet

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salthusid also viewed

Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 

Been to Salthusid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salthusid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.