We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvinated and Relaxed! Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
240, Grindavik 420-8800, Iceland
354-420-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$103*
and up
Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip...
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Grindavik
Type: Spas, Outdoors
Activities: Dining, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This geothermal lagoon has a comfortable temperature averaging 104 degrees Fahrenheit (40C) with mineral-rich waters rumored to have curative powers.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Rejuvinated and Relaxed! Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Okay this place is expensive. Approximately 50 American dollars to get in. Sometimes you get what you pay for. This is definitely the case here. You enter and pay for a wrist band that serves as a food and drink tab and locker key. Go in and shower before putting on your bathing suit and entering the water. We swam and applied mud onto our skin and sunbathed. There are many little nooks and places to swim and explore. There are benches to sit on around the main area so you can comfortably sit in the water and people watch. Some areas are warmer than others and the floor is bumpy in places so be careful or you will stub your toe. We took advantage of a steam room and the waterfall neck massage. The offer non alcoholic flavored frozen drinks, wine and beer at the outside bar. We decided to shower and brought our own shampoo and conditioner. They provide shower gel in the shower rooms. There are nice areas to sit and blow dry your hair in the ladies locker rooms complete with backlit mirrors and blow dryers. You can bring your own curling iron (Icelandic voltage plug) We only stayed a little over two hours but we left relaxed rejuvenated and just glowed from our family experience that shouldn’t be missed. The only thing I could suggest to encourage local attendance they should offer reduced rates for residents. This seemed to be a monitary splurge for our family who lives here to take us here during our visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,566
    1,100
    359
    110
    50
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

spent a few hours today at the Blue Lagoon and was incredibly impressed. The experience is amazing, to be able to walk around in the warm (and hot in places) water, walk up to the bar and get a drink then walk over and apply a mud mask followed by a few minutes in the steam bath was a great way to spend time. I could easily spend an entire day here without any problem whatsoever, absolutely fantastic. If you are in Iceland then you have to visit this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing, I didn't want to get out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This should definitely be on everybody's To-Do list for Iceland. It was everything I was expecting. The water was so warm and the bottom of the lagoon is so soft it feels like it is exfoliating your feet. My one recommendation would be to not do the package that includes lunch at the restaurant. Although the food was beautiful, the service was painfully slow. Our lunch took 2 hours and I spent the whole time looking out at the water and wishing I was still in it. A far better idea would have been to have spent an extra hour in the lagoon and then left to have lunch elsewhere. Another attraction of the package deal was that you get a face scrub or mask included but as there is free mud for your face at the side of the lake you didn't really need this.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Too expensive, but pretty cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Driving out to the Blue Lagoon is fun, but once you are there is does all seem a bit over priced. Expensive anyway but then on top of that you have to pay extra for dressing gowns, towels etc. It is well built and well maintained though and once you've gotten over the initial handing over of cash it is quite fun. It was a freezing day when we went with high winds and so even tho your body is in the warm water, my ears nearly froze - and remember to put lots of conditioner on your hair before you go out there, it freezes. I enjoyed it, for what it was, sitting in a hot bath with lots of other ppl shivering, but I wouldn't do it again and it is really expensive. Also, if it is freezing and you're not that hardy you don't really get to experience it as well as if it were warmer and you can swim to the bar, stand up, use the mud etc so i'd wait for a warmer day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very unique experience, not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am glad I've visited the spa. It is very unusual place and if you are in Iceland it is one for the "musts" although I am not sure everyone can tolerate it. The water is actually quite hot and really salty. The pool is huge and it is not all the same temperature - some areas are more comfortable and some of them felt really boiling hot. If you are not comfortable in a hot tub or have some relevant health limitations - beware. We were there for just over 2 hours and it felt like quite enough. Did not try the restaurant but had few beers while soaking. Steam rooms are nice. i don't think a private lounge is necessary - we did not have any problems to change at the locker.
Do the cleansing mud mask, the one that is free of charge near the steam rooms and follow it with the facial stuff they sell at the bar for 9000 kronas - there is enough for 2 people. It is really good. If you have a sensitive skin have your moisturizer with your - skin is becoming dry and very tight after the spa.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

 
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.