We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
240, Grindavik, Iceland
354-420-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 4 attractions in Grindavik
Type: Spas
Activities: Dining, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This geothermal lagoon has a comfortable temperature averaging 104 degrees Fahrenheit (40C) with mineral-rich waters rumored to have curative powers.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Another great day out in this wonderful country. It is not cheap, but then - most things in Iceland arent. This one is just great - 45min(+/-) from Reykjavik City Centre by mini-coach, you get to a modern built facility around what looks like blue watered lakes in the middle of nowhere.
Facilities inside are clean, well equiped and the lagoon itself is a sensational experience. Outside temperature was around +3C, and you are in a nicely warm/hot water sunbathing and having a swim! Fab! There is even a bar inside the lagoon so you don't need to get out of the water to get refreshed. Placed around the edges are wooden boxes with some kind of gooey exfolliating (apparently) white mud - it is a great fun to slap it on your face and feel the tingling sensation as it dries... there is a waterfall/massage, steam rooms/sauna, etc... We spend almost 5 hours just chilling, having an occaional swim, etc... Fantastic. Do go. I will be going back

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,928
    817
    280
    83
    46
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!! Go, go, go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was such a beautiful and relaxing place that I never wanted to leave. The lagoon is amazing! The mineral facial mask leaves your skin so soft that it's unbelievable. The girl that works in the Lagoon that puts an algae mask on you is very sweet and does a great job with that algae mask which is also incredible.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Touristy? Absolutely. Awesome? Absolutely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

After landing at the airport from an overnight flight from NY, my husband and I took the flybus directly to the Blue Lagoon for a few wonderful and relaxing hours in the natural thermal lagoon. I sprung for an in-water massage (which, sadly, wasn't that good because I got a masseuse who didn't use very firm pressure despite my request) so I would not get a massage again, but the experience of relaxing in the water and spreading the silica on my body for its healing properties was terrific. The lagoon is large enough that it never felt crowded (at least during the hours we were there), and the sauna and shower facilities were clean and efficient.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A very unique way to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Cut out of a lava field, using natural hot springs, this really is a top quality facility. Put on a face mask and relax in the warm waters!
My recommendation is to do this on the way to the airport as it's close to Keflavik Airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A must-see in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The water here is awesome. It made my skin feel more supple than usual. I also put that white stuff on my face.. whatever it was. They're available for free at boxes around the lagoon. The waterfall massage was also nice. The steam/sauna rooms were overkill though. I don't think many could survive in them for more than a minute. Bring your own towels so you don't have to fork even more money to rent them!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Lagoon to your Saves list