We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly reasonable - and usefully close to the Blue Lagoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Mamma Mia

Pizzeria Mamma Mia
Hafnargata 7a, Grindavik 240, Iceland
+354-426-9966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Grindavik
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfectly reasonable - and usefully close to the Blue Lagoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you come out of the Blue Lagoon and are hungry you can go to the BL cafe, but it is expensive. Or you can drive back to Reykjavik, which is a fair distance if you are feeling hungry. Or you can pop down the road to Grindavik, and eat at the Mamma Mia. It isn't much to write home about, but the food is reasonable, and the prices reasonable as well - steak and chips for £12.50. My daughter said that the pizza was good, and the boxed the rest of it up for us and we ate it the next day. So we are glad we went there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value Restaurant in Grindavik.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I with my sister and her husband were traveling by car to the Blue Lagoon and made a slight detour to Grindavik to view the fishing fleet. After which we made are way to the Mamma Mia Restaurant. We had we think the best pizza ever with a portion of real chips cooked to perfection, this was matched with very friendly service by our waiter who was also the chef. Many thanks to Poroteinn. Sorry wrong spelling, Icelandic is a little difficult to say the least !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland area
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“OK at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The pizza was just ok. They were changing from Coke to Pepsi and also their spirits vendor so all the signage and menu's were wrong. It was a Wednesday, but we only saw one other party in the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great pizza restaurant a short drive from the Blue Lagoon. Made a welcome change from the over priced hotel food. Freshly made to order, traditional tasting pizza. They do take away as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mamma Mia-Grindavik”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Grindavik is one of the premier commercial fishing villages in Iceland with large modern cod trawlers docking to off load their catches. Mamma Mia serves many of the local fishermen and the fish plant workers. Nothing fancy, cold beer, pizza, and local fish. Reasonably priced by Iceland standards.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Mamma Mia also viewed

Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 

Been to Pizzeria Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Mamma Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.