We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Restaurant

Lava Restaurant
240 Grindavik, Grindavik, Iceland
+354 420 8815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Grindavik
Price range: $25 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Maybe it was the jet lag, but I was a little disappointed with this restaurant. The service was extremely slow and no efforts were made to make us enjoy the experience. The view of the lagoon was minimal because they seated us far from the windows even though we requested to sit near them (mind you the place was almost empty!) I expected a much better ambience, meal, and experience fitting of the location. That said, in regards to the food, I am a vegetarian and we went here after in-water massages after a very long flight from Chicago. My meal was good, but not worth what I spent. My vegetarian dinner, no drinks, no dessert, was about $75 U.S. dollars including tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    99
    43
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a special meal which tasted divine . The attention to detail worth going A bit pricey as is most things in Iceland

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“tasty treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we visited the Blue lagoon we had the Buffet Lunch in the Lava Restaurant. there was a good choice of hot and cold dishes,but I liked the Lamb, kept going back for more, there was space between the tables so you were not crammed in, the views out of the windows across the lagoon were good to. The service was good, the hot cooked meats were served carvery fashion by a chef.
No complaints all good

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Professional friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good ambience etc, nice calming music, professional knowledgeable staff, clean place which is very important. The food was of a high standard. It is nordic food which may not be to some people's taste, if you want pizza and chips go elsewhere. It is pricey but then everything in Iceland is. (as an aside - dear Iceland, bring your costs down to attract more tourists !) We enjoyed it, no nonsense about tasting wine etc. Nordic simplicity in the design. One thing, not very many good views of the lagoon from the restaurant, pity they didn't take advantage of this. There is one table that offers a great view of a small cut in the rocks which leads into the lagoon, quite romantic. Try and reserve that if you can. The restaurant closes at 21:00 or 9 pm if you are American....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service with an hair in the starter!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Staff (waitresses) were so slow and not happy face smily ones at all! Looked like they werent
enjoying what they are doing!

I did expect much much more! Its not a cheap caffe place the end of the day!
You pay reasonable amount of money and you expect reasonable service which we unfortunately did not get!

It was quite empty too!Not surprised!

I would NOT go back there to eat just because of terrible service!
Food was quite nice but an hair spoiled it all in our starter :( and as I said its not a cheap place
to let that happen you know...

A ''no-no" !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Restaurant also viewed

Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
Grindavik, Southern Peninsula
 

Been to Lava Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.