We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remarkably nice hotel and restaurant given its remote small town setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Fludir to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Fludir B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
345 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A remarkably nice hotel and restaurant given its remote small town setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent a pleasant night at this hotel. Not an elegant place, but with spacious comfortable rooms that are nicely appointed. The town of Fludir is very small, so it was nice to have this place available in the region. We'd heard good things about the hotel's restaurant and were not disappointed. The food was truly excellent! Service was polite and adequate -- nothing warm and friendly but you rarely get that in Iceland. A recommended place if you're considering staying in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the hotel might be able to reach the wifi that's available in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    87
    42
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
96
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here as it is billed as a perfect hotel to see the Northern Lights and we did indeed see some. However, it is in a little village and so at night there is still quite a bit of light. It is very thoughtfully built though, with huge plate glass windows in the dining room making viewing the sky very easy, plus the staff are very accommodating to people wondering away from their tables to go outside and see the lights, bashing bits of camera equipment around the hallways and generally causing chaos with the staff happily going about their business. Also, if the lights happen at night they do call round each room to wake you up.

The hotel itself is clean, funcational, a string of chalets around a pebble garden with two hot tubs. The rooms are wood, feel very Icelandic with wet rooms rather than bathrooms, no bathtubs. The food was lovely, which is lucky as there isn't anywhere else nearby for a drink/dinner.

The location is great if you are touring the golden circle, at the far flung edge of the route and near to the spas and sights of the circle.

My tip for the Northern Lights would be though to stay sober and when called, jump in the car, a 10 min drive and you'll be out in the country with no other lights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Traveling with a group the location seemed good, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our dinner was good although had to ask what we were being served as the waitstaff didn't tell us. Don't go here for friendly staff, unless you talk to the overnight security person, no one seems to be to helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Like all other icelandair hotels this one is clean with friendly staff. You really shoudl use the hot tube in the centre garden. After a long drive it's THE perfect way to relax, even when it's raining and around zero degrees celsius.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has nice touches with the hot tubs and all rooms opening into the central courtyard. Beds comfortable. The hot water in my room took minutes to come through which was annoying. Only one small radiator located in the bathroom and with gale force winds and low temperatures it was slightly chilly but not cold inside. Brwakfast was fairly standard with no hot food other than toast if you count that. Cold meats, cold boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal and a range of tea bags, coffee. It is a good hotel but overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. The room was clean, the hot tubs and patio area a real treat and, having emailed beforehand, my gluten free diet was provided for at breakfast. Staff were helpful and allowed me to do an online check in for flights. However our evening meal in the restaurant which is recommended on various sites was the dearest meal we had in Iceland and not the best. I feel they take advantage of the fact that there is nowhere else in the village to eat. I would rate the hotel as excellent but the restaurant only ok.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have acess to patio area with hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fludir is a great location for several reasons. From Reykjavik it is on your way to the Golden Circle, it is a good location to spot Northern Lights, the hotel is on a hill with a restaurant that has a stunning view over the valley.

In addition, hot tubs and of course... your hostess, Maga! But also the other hotel staff is very kind and hospitable.

Next to the hotel is a swimming pool with geothermal heated (natural) water and there is a supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fludir
20.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 7 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#2 of 7 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
22.7 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 4 in Hella
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#3 of 7 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
#1 of 2 in Laugarvatn
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fagrilundur Guesthouse
Fagrilundur Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Reykholt
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Fludir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Address: Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Fludir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Fludir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.