We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Fludir to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Fludir B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. The room was clean, the hot tubs and patio area a real treat and, having emailed beforehand, my gluten free diet was provided for at breakfast. Staff were helpful and allowed me to do an online check in for flights. However our evening meal in the restaurant which is recommended on various sites was the dearest meal we had in Iceland and not the best. I feel they take advantage of the fact that there is nowhere else in the village to eat. I would rate the hotel as excellent but the restaurant only ok.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have acess to patio area with hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    64
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fludir is a great location for several reasons. From Reykjavik it is on your way to the Golden Circle, it is a good location to spot Northern Lights, the hotel is on a hill with a restaurant that has a stunning view over the valley.

In addition, hot tubs and of course... your hostess, Maga! But also the other hotel staff is very kind and hospitable.

Next to the hotel is a swimming pool with geothermal heated (natural) water and there is a supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel itself is designed with all the rooms opening out onto patios surrounding a sunken garden, the reason for which is obvious if you arrive on a very windy day, as we did. There are rugs and blankets to snuggle under, and a pair of toasty hot tubs to relax in. Great idea!

The food was really good and we received a similar high level of service to Klaustur - Icelandair Hotels evidently put a real premium on service.

OK, so the showerhead was a bit sketchy and randomly fell off and the bathroom was a (very) wet room, and there was only free wifi in the bar, but I LOVED this place... mainly because we got to watch an extraordinary display of Northern Lights from a hot tub (once we'd taken lots of pictures over at Laugarvatn, of course). I would definitely come again, and for longer next time as it's an ideal base for exploring the Golden Circle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went there with a group of colleagues for a company business trip and I hope I will never ever have to visit this place again. The rooms were spotlessly clean but half of the things inside were broken (I could not charge my phone 'cause of the broken plug and turn on the main light, because the switch was missing) After even a quick shower the bathroom is always full of water which you are supposed to clean yourself with a sponge mop that's behing the bathroom door. The food is of really low quality comparing to the sky-high price. We could feel the smell of cigarette smoke from behind the kitchen door which also turned our apetites down. During the dinner one of the waiters, he was also checking us out the next morning, smelled of alcohol and sweat making the food taste even worse. The breakfast was plain without anything warm like eggs or sausages. Although the hotel manager farewelled us with a smile when I turned around to ask about some nice place to go, I saw her making faces to our backs. That was very unprofessional and childish, not to say worse. That was a very bad stay, a waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

the basics are there: clean, comfortable, convenient. but you can tell it has been full of tourists on packaged tours: no love, no soul.
It's supposed to be a good location for northern light hunting, but there are light pollutions all around and the night we stayed there was the only night where we didn't see northern light on our trip.
We looked forward to watching the northern light from the hot tubs. but it was not hot and no guest used it for the whole night.
Food in the restaurant, for it's price, was only average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst driving around Iceland. Easy to find, service was ok, hot tub was only warm, rooms are pretty average but clean. Dinner was the highlight, very high standard of cooking and a decent breakfast also. In all a decent enough stopover in the area and memorable for the dinner.

Room Tip: Have dinner here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were staying near Fludir in self catering accommodation but came for a meal in the Icelandair Hotel restaurant. The food was fantastic - a really varied and very tasty menu. The desserts were also incredible - highly recommend the chocolate creme brulee! Great quality food and the service was exceptional. Quite reasonably priced as well. If you are in the area it is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Fludir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Address: Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Fludir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Fludir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.