We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minilik

Minilik
Gilsbakka | Gilsbakka 845 Fludir, Fludir 845 fludir, Iceland
486 6660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Fludir
Cuisines: Ethiopian, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A hidden tresure for sure!
Very good food. No fork or knife, very different experience
I can recommend this place for sure.
Did not know what to expect from an etheopean place but I was pleasently surrpriced :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Something completely different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We arrived with little time on our hands, just wanted to try this interesting restaurant, African cuisine in the middle of Iceland. We ordered a plate with a little bit of everything, Minilik special, a combination of main dishes, and it all tasted great. I can´t wait to get there again for a proper meal. As we were leaving the owner (I presume) sat in the middle of the room roasting popcorn for other customers. It was slow cooking at its best :- ) It left a strong smoky smell on our clothers, which some of our kids did not like, but it was a nice reminder for the rest of us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food! Gluten free and veggie options available!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stumbled across this place on a walk out of the village. Was fantastic to get some different food outside of Reykjavik. The owners are lovely and gave me extra lentils when I explained that I was gluten free (I would recommend bringing an Icelandic gluten free card to explain). The coffee is definitely not to be missed and is probably the freshest tastiest coffee you can find in the country!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
“Excellent food experience with coffee ceremony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

You won't expect it on a remote place in Iceland: From outside it looks like a Hamburgar bar, but inside: The right atmosphere very nice hosts and great and tasty food. A highligt is the coffee ceremony, best coffee ever (strong!). It was a great experience nd we felt us welcome and enjoyed a phantastic dinner at a very modest pice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ethiopian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Interesting experience in the heart of Iceland. Delicious food, good service, prices - relatively low for Iceland.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minilik also viewed

 
Reykholt, South Region
 

Been to Minilik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minilik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.