We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great State Fair Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Springfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Stockton IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great State Fair Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during Illinois State Fair. Our room was very clean, the bed was very comfy and the hotel was very quiet! The hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful when needed and always said hi in passing. The breakfast was also excellent and had a ton of choices each morning! We will definitly be staying here again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    32
    20
    8
See reviews for
38
31
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camden Point, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There was no pool, we payed $102 for one night and the room smelled I am pretty sure we were in a smoking room. For the pool you had to go to the hotel next door. The room was a little run down as well. And the room was very hot as well. Loved the breakfast

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if you want a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do offer the Crowne Plaza’s pool to our guests, however I do understand the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

When I stay in a hotel I want it to be clean, clean, clean-that's foremost, quiet, that's next, and I'd like it to be easy to find. I appreciate it if its up to date, has decent toiletries, and decent choice of breakfast items and is, in general, attractive. This Holiday Inn Express met all my criteria. I choice to stay here on the way out on my journey and decided to go back the same way and stay where I was sure of meeting my standards. It is busy here because of the interest in Lincoln and if you are wanting to see the Library, museum or home they are a short distance away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I really appreciate the feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stopped off here for 1 night while doing Route 66 . It's a nice hotel, friendly staff and good breakfast . Only downside was the corridor up to our room and our room smelt of smoke. Glad we only stayed 1 night but overall there was nothing wrong with it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay! We will address the smoking smell as we have recently been in the process of going to a 100% smoke free property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel was super clean and friendly staff. Rooms were clean. Great location, close to many restaurants and major highways. Housekeeping staff also friendly and courteous..would stay there again or sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I hope you are enjoying your summer and continue to "Stay Real" with the Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Drop ceiling in the bathroom is a potential mold hazard. The tub did not drain and was clogged. You need to walk across an exterior road to get to another motel's swimming pool. It is convenient to shopping and restaurants. The rates are not that great. The elevators had the smell of burning oil.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the conditions of the facility prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nothing about this stay was horrible, but everything was a touch below average. Front desk staff were impersonal and checked people in without much interaction. Rooms have had some updating, but still have stained carpet and the three different ones I was in all had a musty/dirty odor. Gym equipment is worn to the point of almost being obsolete and unusable. Housekeeping staff was vacuuming the hallway at around 7:00 AM waking many people up I am sure. With a little updating and better trained staff this hotel could be nice since it is in a nice location adjacent to the conference center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are an older property, but strive to excel in customer service. The hotel will be undergoing renovations on the business center, fitness center and lobby. We are very excited to see the changes coming in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 3050 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with coffeemakers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, Free high speed wireless Internet access, pay movies, 2 line/modem ready telephones. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has four meeting rooms, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, w/outdoor viewing patio, and room service options. Conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.