We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Springfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This Holiday Inn is poor in comparism to other Holiday Inns we've stayed in. It is in need of a update as is very tired. Breakfast dissapointing & there were no labels telling you what anything was - not that there was much choice.What our group thought was porridge was in fact mushroom soup - yuk... Is it just me or is that weird to have mushroom soup for breakfast?

Smokey Bones restaurant next door is worth a visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
The Holiday Inn Express is required to uphold all brand standards including our breakfast selection. Many guests choose our hotel because of the wide variety of items we offer our guests. We offer hot and cold items ranging from cereal to pancakes, and you cant forget about our famous cinnamon rolls. I promise you won't be disappointed with this sweet indulgence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    37
    21
    10
See reviews for
41
34
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very disappointed by this Holiday Inn. The equipment in the exercise room either does work or in need of repair. The carpet in the room was not vacuumed and don't even look when you go to plug in a device it was disgusting. The bathroom ceiling is very short if your over 6 foot tall you will have a problem taking a shower the ceiling tiles are in need of repair. I asked for extra towels and was asked to come get them. There is a new hotel opening soon at the end of the road also there are plenty of other hotels nearby. I will never stay again.

Room Tip: This is not a family hotel. If you want to use a pool you have to walk outsideto the Crowne Plaza. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I want to personally apologize for the cleanliness of our fitness center during your stay and I take direct responsibility for it. I will immediately coach our team concerning the importance of this issue and its impact on our guests. We are currently in the planning stages for renovating our fitness center and replacing all of the existing equipment and I will pass your feedback to our ownership team. I would welcome additional feedback from you concerning your stay with us and address any other issues or concerns you may have about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Check in was done by the manager who, while recognizing me as a Platinum level club member, told me about changes and updates coming to the hotel. Right now the hotel is a little worn out and can use an updating. The heating unit in the room was confounding, either too cold or too hot but I was only there for one night so not a big deal. Hotel was quiet (and I was next to the expressway). The staff was great, very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was standard breakfast bar offerings from Holiday Inn but well maintained and the area kept clean. Room and bathroom were both clean. I received a 2 for 1 drink offer from the front desk at the neighboring Crowne Plaza hotel but the service was so slow I left and went to Smokey Bones (very close to the hotel along with a few other bar/food choices) for some beer and BBQ. I get to the area 4-5 times a year and will probably stay again down the road when the improvements have been put in place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. I appreciate the kind comments and we look forward to continuing improvements at the hotel and meeting your future needs. We are definitely very excited and appreciate your loyalty to the IHG Family of brands and your Platinum status!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and i stopped here on our way to visit family for Christmas and like it so much we stayed here again on the way home. Every person behind the front desk was kind and in a good mood, the rooms were clean, and the free hot breakfast had a large variety and was kept fully stocked. We felt very at home here!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stays with us. I am very happy that you enjoyed your experiences and that my team could contribute to your Holiday happiness. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team and we hope to serve you in the spirit of hospitality again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for conference next door at Crowne Plaza. Convenient for that
Room was nothing special. But only in it to sleep.

No issues with any services but only here for 2 days. Breakfast was decent, popcorn in the lobby.
Wifi was free which was a bonus since it did cost $10 a day if you stayed next door.

Could use some deep cleaning in areas. Did notice lot of dust behind the bedside table.

Plenty of places choses for eating in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. Our team is committed to providing a clean, comfortable and hospitable stay for all of our guests. I am in the process of working with our housekeeping team to ensure all of our rooms receive scheduled deep cleanings. We hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Springfield from time to time for work, and often stay at the holiday inn. I find that it's a decent stay, and I often choose the hotel for the points/rewards.

Rooms are always clean. The checkin is prompt.

They offer room service, which I haven't tried but have heard it is great. Breakfast is fine/standard.

Overall, it's a reliable place to stay. Bed isn't great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us. I will share your positive comments with our team members as well as share bedding comments with our ownership. We take all comments to heart. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for a meeting this week. Overall the staff was nice and it was convenient for our meeting at the Crowne Plaza. The room cleanliness needs some work. The first night my sheets looked like someone had splattered bleach on them and it had eaten through some of the thickness of the sheet? It also had what looked like a blood stain. And we each had random hairs in our beds. There is so much dust on the wall decor and behind the night stand. Even potato chips on the floor that we noticed after the third day...and we had not eaten any chips! We got back late the second night and noticed we were left no wash clothes. Got back the third day from that conference at 4 pm and our room had still not been cleaned for the day. Housekeeping knocked on the door right after we returned and asked if we just wanted new towels instead of fully making up the room. We agreed and mentioned that we would need some wash clothes since we did not have any. We got wash clothes then but no hand towels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear newlyweds111,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am delighted our convenient location suited you well and equally pleased you liked our hotel staff. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, my apologies for any inconvenience caused by the condition of the sheet, overall cleanliness of the room and housekeeping services received. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 3050 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with coffeemakers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, Free high speed wireless Internet access, pay movies, 2 line/modem ready telephones. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has four meeting rooms, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, w/outdoor viewing patio, and room service options. Conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.