We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new friends at the Hoiliday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Springfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My new friends at the Hoiliday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

For years I have been going twice a year to Springfield Illionis for the AMA Pro Grand National Championship Races the IMDA puts on. It's a three day trip so I need a room for two nights. Having a place you feel comfortable at is important, when it comes with a staff that makes you feel like family it's SUPER!
Located near the freeway and other top food chains like Smokey Bones and Hooters makes it over the top fun!
If you should be in Springfield, say Hi to Janet at the H I Express front desk!
Dan

Room Tip: Loved the place, they have upgraded property so its very welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    37
    21
    10
See reviews for
41
34
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a nice hotel, nothing extraordinary, but I would stay there again & would recommend it to others. We got a "wedding rate" of $89, but I'm not sure I would pay any more than that. The help was very friendly and promptly answered any and all questions we had. They were very quick to respond to any food that was gone for the breakfast. The room was slightly small but clean. The bathroom was a little dark but good water pressure & clean. Our room had a sink & mini fridge which was great. The bed was very comfortable (we had a queen room with a sofa pull out on the 4th floor). There is no pool here but you can use the Crown's next door, which is a jaunt, but if you wanted a pool it is available. I have kids & it is September so if we would've been able to use it, it would've been ok but in the winter I'm not sure how that woud work because you have to walk outside to go to the other building. However, the walk outside is only roughly 10-15 yards. I do feel it could be labeled a little more clear from the oustide, you feel like you are walking into an employee entrance or something. Once inside there are lots of signs so that helps, but the pool is on the 14th floor, be warned. It was a nice hotel & I would stay there again for $89. (Now I just hope my kids didn't keep anyone up!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Checked in late at night...desk person was grumpy after she decided to come out of the office. Seem irritated I was there. Minutes later, couldn't log into the free internet...rang the desk. No answer. Rang again. No answer. Called on my cell phone. Answer! Room is ok. shower has one temperature: very hot. Bathroom countertop has been wiped off. Clean? I hope so. Beds are small...and populated with lots and lots of pillows. Really! How many pillows do I need --- each with a pillowcase telling me it's soft, firm...you get the idea. Why spent money on enough pillows to cover the bed when the bathroom has no ventilation fan? Vending ice machines are in the hall...not in a room off the hall. So I can hear the ice machine all night long...and the folks favoring the vending machine are always nice and quiet, right? Especially around midnight or so. I get the feeling this place is sort of the ugly step-sister of the Crowne Plaza next door...Bottom line here: what is there to like about staying here? Nothing. But there's nothing so bad I would condemn the place. I wouldn't stay here again, though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear 2jbsdad,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and really enjoyed the stay. I have to say the hotel in and of itself was clean, and better than average. There was a nice indoor pool to use next door, that was a chilly but quick walk away. That being said, the STAFF makes this hotel!!!! We were traveling with a 1 year old and the maid service was amazing, getting extra wash clothes for us and making sure the floor was "extra vacuumed". Breakfast was included and seeing that my hands were full they were ALWAYS willing to lend a hand.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Location is great, staff is friendly and the room was big and decently appointed...but we were grossed out at the significant lack of cleanliness throughout the room. Just about every surface--windows, armoire and dresser fronts, drawer knobs, door handles, light switches--was covered by greasy handprints, brown splotches or mysterious crusty stuff. The bed skirt was covered with creepy stains and even the toilet seat had gouges and worn spots that couldn't be cleaned (hello! Unhygienic! Replace!). Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. Our team strives to provide a clean and comfortable environment for all our guests. If the housekeeping team fell short in this area, we want to know. We’re truly sorry this happened to you. We’ll use this feedback to immediately follow up and prevent any future occurrences.
We never wanted this to be your first or last impression of our hotel. We want to be committed to our hospitality promises and would have wanted to make the situation right immediately. Again, my apologies this should've never happened. We do appreciate you letting us know. If you could ever allow us another opportunity, please contact one of our hospitality team members to immediately assist you.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This motel worked out nice for our family. The rooms were roomy and clean. The pool and spa were kid friendly. We would stay here again on another trip. Worked out good for a large family - we rented three rooms. Beds were comfortable.

Breakfast is not included in the price, so we went to Bob Evans restaurant nearby for a great breakfast. (Tripadvisor demanded an answer to the Breakfast question, but it doesn't apply since we ate elsewhere).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express, Springfield, Il We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s clean and comfortable rooms. Thank you for complimenting us on your experience. We’re sorry for any confusion and that you missed it; the hotel does serve a FREE full breakfast every morning in the hotel lobby. (The hours are from 6:30am to 9:30am).
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for a conference which was held at the Crowne Plaza, right next door. We picked here for the free internet and breakfast. It is great how these two hotels work together for a conference ! We had a slight issue with the internet, which turned out to be our issue. You see the Hilton and Holiday use the same provider and you can get both signals here, but the password for secure does not work unless you are using the right link, our error and once we figured that our it worked great. The breakfast was wonderful both mornings ! Staff is extremely friendly and helpful as well. Do not see many hotels with this friendly of staff who want to be sure all is okay. Kudos to them for this. Loved the popcorn in the lobby for snack.

Only two negatives with this stay. 1) no hot water the first morning. Made for a rough day with a cold shower to start a conference. It was taken care and we had hot water the second morning which was wonderful. This can happen, it was just a rough start to the day. 2) Rooms were fairly clean, but some dust bunnies on the vent grates which was near our bed... flaired the allergies a bit. I have seen worse, but they need to check the vents and clean them. Overall a very good stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. I’m glad you found the rooms clean. Please, accept our sincere apology for not having hot water though. We did have a sensor go bad, although it was fixed immediately, we truly did not want to fall short of your expectations in any way. We’ll have staff focus more closely on those vents. Thank you again, we value your feedback and hope you will give us a second chance in welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 3050 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with coffeemakers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, Free high speed wireless Internet access, pay movies, 2 line/modem ready telephones. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has four meeting rooms, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, w/outdoor viewing patio, and room service options. Conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.