We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Convenient to the great Abraham Lincoln spots!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Springfield to your Saves list
Hilton Springfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 East Adams, Springfield, IL 62701-1601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Du Quoin, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So Convenient to the great Abraham Lincoln spots!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

What a great hotel! It has a wonderful staff, great views, healthy and delicious breakfast, Bennigan's Restaurant (and you can earn extra HH points). It is an easy walk to so many of the Lincoln areas - his home, the museum, the old train station, etc. The hotel rooms are clean, comfortable beds, and roomy. The indoor pool is small, but nice.
Great for business meetings and vacation time!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    211
    127
    52
    42
See reviews for
128
107
31
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We are a family of four that were staying at this hotel to attend a family wedding. We found the hotel to be adequate, but not the most family friendly place for us. It lacked any sort of kids activities that we could find. The shops connected to the lobby are a bit out of date and not that useful to non-business travelers. The Starbucks is nice to have, but only serves the drinks and a few pastries - not the full menu that you find at other Starbucks. The rooms themselves are somewhat small and cramped. No room for any furniture but a small desk and chair.

The biggest complaint we had was the noise. Trains nearby were quite loud and easy to hear through the windows. I'm not sure if it's best to get a room facing a different direction, but we were on the 23rd floor and could hear them all through the night. Also, sound travels from the hallway quite easily.

The best features for us were the nearby Starbucks and Bennigan's restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFear, Manager at Hilton Springfield, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Trav_Junkie,

Thanks for leaving this review. We value the comments of our guests as it is a good way for us to improve our guests experience at the hotel. We are looking at ways to help minimize outside and inside noise. We hope next time you are in Springfield, you look us up and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Quite comfortable, though the circular floor design can make for noisy hallways. Staff were attentive and the room well-equipped. Free WiFi. An extra $15/day for a fridge seems too high. Grocery stores and such are not within walking distance, but the various Lincoln-related points of interest are close by. Gym and pool are adequate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Because it is a Hilton, the level of service and the quality of the bed and linens was as expected. In fact, the bed was extremely comfortable.

What I didn't like is the extra costs for things at other hotels that are included in the room. For instance, we stayed in a King Jr. Suite, but we had to pay extra to get a mini-fridge in the room. Crazy. I also don't like that the breakfast is not included. The room is so expensive yet they can't throw in a breakfast buffet? It's not like what they offer on the buffet is any better than what is found at a Holiday Inn Express.

The room itself was rather noisy. All night I could hear the elevator. Not the elevator door opening and closing....the actual elevator mechanism. It was horrible. Thankfully the air conditioning unit was so loud that it drowned out the sound somewhat.

In all, I'm sure this Hilton is among the nicest hotels in Springfield. I would have to recommend it only for that and for the close proximity to the Lincoln sites. Otherwise, I would pass.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed here as the second part of an anniversary trip. Had a lovely room on the 28th floor with a full length window view of the Capitol and downtown. The room was well appointed, clean, quiet, no, we didn't experience the wind noise others have noted.

Check in was easy and pleasant. Staff was very genial. Had the buffet breakfast the next morning which was what you would expect from a buffet breakfast! Location is perfect for anything in downtown Springfield. We walked to dinner, etc. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked this hotel because of it's proximity to the historical spots we planned to visit. We were thrilled with the ability to walk to all our destinations (except the Lincoln burial site). The staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel was clean and nicely appointed, including the rooms. The hotel was full during our stay during a convention, and yet it was not noisy. We'll certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFear, Manager at Hilton Springfield, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Amseater,

Thanks for the kind words. You are exactly right, for people in town to visit the historical sites, our location can’t be beat. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

M. Fear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Front desk staff was pleasant and check-in was fast and simple. The room was clean and well appointed. The location is very convenient to travel around the Springfield area and it is within walking distance many restaurants. We stayed on the 27th floor and we had a wonderful view of the city.

We really enjoyed the close proximity of the hotel to the downtown area as well as to the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum and to the Lincoln Home National Historic Site both of which are must see. The Lincoln Tomb is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel.

We spent a fair amount of time walking around the downtown area and were pleased with how friendly and knowledgeable the locals were.

Although we could hear some “creaking” at night, it was never loud enough to bother us and was really only evident if you tried to listen for it.

Overall I would definitely stay here again when I’m in Springfield.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFear, Manager at Hilton Springfield, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Texas-Tiers,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write this review. We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable trip to Springfield and that you enjoyed your accommodations at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

M. Fear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Springfield

Address: 700 East Adams, Springfield, IL 62701-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Springfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.