We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701 (Formerly President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plant City, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I made a reservation for July 4th. I called the hotel on July 2nd. I talked to Will White. Mr. White could not have been more accommodating with me and my questions about the Springfield area. He definitely went above and beyond. Upon arriving my wife and I were greeted by Josh the Valet. He too was very accommodating and very eager to answer our questions and offering to make dinner reservations. Upon entering the hotel we were met at the reservation desk by Darlene. She too went above and beyond with her suggestions etc. I have travelled quite a bit over the years and I can honestly say this was one of most hospitable hotels I have stayed.

The room was very spacious and very clean. There was nothing that needed to be addressed.

The restaurant was another subject altogether. Upon entering for dinner and breakfast, I had to ask to an apparent empty room if they were serving. The servers were both good but apparently more involved in conversation than they were dealing with customers. The breakfast was very good but the dinner would have been OK for a lower end restaurant.

Overall the hotel itself was great and I would recommend it to friends but the restaurant not so much. I would give the hotel 5 starts and the restaurant 2 1/2.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the hotel but go to another location for dinner. Well within walking distance for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rick S,

Thank you for the review. I was very happy to read about you experiences with Will, Josh, and arlene. They are three exceptional associates. I was also dissapointed to read about your experience in the restaurant. I will meet with our Food and Beverage team to address your experience and work hard to make improvements. Thank you very much for your patronage and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    161
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
116
67
18
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I wanted to introduce our grandchildren to Abraham Lincoln and Springfield history. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel is two blocks from the important sites and as we have little grandchildren, this location was very important. We booked and prepaid our three night reservation with the President Lincoln Springfield Hotel through Expedia 4 months before our vacation. We received an email from the hotel confirming our reservation. The email stated, "This rate is non-refundable and cannot be changed or cancelled -- If you do choose to change or cancel this booking, you will not be refunded any of the payment."

The day of our reservation at 6:30 pm as we approached Springfield, we received a cell phone call from Expedia. The President Lincoln Springfield Hotel had cancelled our reservation due to overbooking and they would reserve a room for us at the Hilton Garden Inn Springfield.

When we arrived at the Garden Inn, we found it was miles from the historic downtown sites. Expedia claimed the new hotel was more expensive than the Abraham Lincoln Hotel but they assured us they would not charge us more than we had already paid. A quick check of comparative rack rates showed the Abraham Lincoln Hilton to actually be $10/night more than the hotel to which we were sent. The apparent lesser expense of the Abraham Lincoln was due to the "good deal" we had secured with our four month early prepayment.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Robert B,

Thank you foryour review. We are very sorry that we were unable to accomodate you during your recent visit to Springfield. These types of situations do not happen often but any time they do it could be an unpleasant experience.
Robert, if you contact me directly, I would be happy to extend a complimentary two night stay for you. My phone number is 217-321-2439.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Perfect location for Lincoln tours, and best hotel in the area.
Enjoyed the free apples and cookies and loading up on ice water as we voyaged out.
NOTE: Parking is free on the streets on the weekends (Fri 5pm thru Sunday night) - and easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Iberko,

Thanks for the complimentary review. Glad you found our location and hotel to be the best around. Happy to read that you enjoyed a few of our complimentary services like, fesh fruit, water, and the warm chocolate chip cookies available at the desk and coffe and tea service in the lobby in the morning.

Come back soon.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right downtown and within walking distance of all the Lincoln attractions. Parking was $7. The building is a bit dated and needs to be brought out of the 1980's but the rooms were updated and very nice. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. The pool was very nice. This is the perfect place to stay if you're staying a night to see the Lincoln sites. There is a lack of family food options around the hotel especially at night. Most of the businesses around the hotel are bars.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Dave S,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. Should you have an opportunity to stay with us again, I would be happy to provide you with a list of great restaurants that reasonably priced that are quite close to the hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is in the best possible location for visiting Lincoln library and museum. only a 5 minute stroll door to door. Room was spacious and very clean and comfortable.Also very quiet. Staff were very efficient and pleasant and allowed us to make use of car park and check in at 12;30. Which gave us the rest of the day to visit the museum. the bar inside the hotel was also excellent and served great bar food and some very nice beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Keith P,

Thank you for recognixing our staff, cleanliness, location and food and beverages. I was extremly happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
When coming back to Springfield, please come by and see us again.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a great stay at the Abe Lincoln. The staff was super friendly, the rooms were extremely clean and the location is great!The pool and hot tub were nice as well. They even left us a treat in our room since it was our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Matt D
Thank you for your kind words. We hope taht you will come back and celebrate a future anniversary or other special occaision with us.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We came to Springfield on a weekend getaway with kids. The hotel was great! Very clean, beautiful, right location, within walking distance to lots of the Lincoln sites. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Cindi A,

Thank you very much for the great review! I was pleased to read that you had a great time and enjoyed our hotel. I hope that you will return to Springfield and the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 701 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701 (Formerly President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#3 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#4 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Our Springfield, IL hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Springfield, walking distance to Lincoln's home and the presidential musuem. Known for its exceptional service, attention to detail and exquisite cuisine. Discover our one of a kind hotel where guests become a part of the family. The atmosphere is both stimulating and comfortable, featuring a colorful palate of rich patterns and textures while providing the amenities to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Confernece Springfield
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel And Confernece Center
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield
Hotel President Abraham Lincoln

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.