We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 40 hotels in Springfield
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Convenient location, excellent, helpful staff, clean! Very quiet! Bed small for average couple, sheets didn't stay tucked in; made sleeping uncomfortable! And, as crazy as it sounds, the first morning our toilet filled with hot water, I might have enjoyed a heated seat in winter but not in the summer- just too weird! I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    249
    65
    21
    11
See reviews for
150
214
39
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at The State House Inn while we in Springfield, Illinois on the 4th of July weekend. The staff at this hotel are incredible. Everyone is there to make sure your stay is great! They even know how to direct you to different locations in the city or to a good place to eat dinner. Our room was very clean and had retro style you just don't see anymore. We loved it! They also serve a very good breakfast. You have a choice of eggs, bacon, potato, waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, or just a cup of coffee. We would definitely stay there again. It is also close to downtown and the museums.

Room Tip: book your room early the hotel fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

No working TV. TV repair out for entire hotel and we were not advised before sign in. Train whistle noise at night. No note pad or pencil at the telephone. Bathroom marble counters too high... couldn't get our face over the sink. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This was our first trip to this hotel. Seems like a nice up scale hotel. Should have check out Trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the State House Inn while visiting the Lincoln historical attractions, and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. It's not perfect as some reviewers have pointed out. The rooms are a little small and the decor seems dated but I believe it is intentionally retro to look like the decor of the 60's. No, they don't have a pool, which could possibly be an issue with families with young children. In my view, these are minor issues compared to all of the great things this hotel offers. I concur with other reviewers that the free breakfast was outstanding! It filled us up for the entire day. I also agree that the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, and the bed is comfortable. They even had 2 bathrobes in the room! Our first night there was a Sunday and most of the restaurants were closed. However the helpful staff gave us 3 options that they knew would be open. We chose Saputo's Italian restaurant and had a great meals for a very reasonable price. The historical loop shuttle has a stop just 2 blocks away, but we chose to walk to the Lincoln museum and the Lincoln home (just a few blocks) with no problem. We walked back to the hotel to freshen up and then drove to the Lincoln Tomb (free parking) which is just 2-3 miles away. The old State House is very close as is Lincoln's law office. The location is very convenient! Best of all, you can't beat the price! Our AAA discount brought our rate to below $80/night, and this included free parking at the hotel. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice hotel that is only 1 block from the state capital. Many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The check-in desk even gives you a map to make navigating even easier. She was very helpful. Rooms were a little small, but had everything you needed. The beds were comfortable. Our only dismay was getting out of the beds because they were tucked in a wooden frame. It was kind of like getting out of a waterbed. The bathroom was extremely nice. From high quality towels and toiletries, to the fluffy white robes, this bathroom was way above the average hotel bathroom. You get a voucher for a free breakfast. It was a great breakfast
with much more choices than the average continental ones you get elsewhere. Scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, fruits, cereal and other goodies that are kept well stocked during the busiest time. It was a very pleasant surprise. Very friendly staff at check-in and at the breakfast room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The State House Inn proved to be above and beyond our expectations on our recent stay in Springfield. The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. The hotel offers an exceptional full breakfast with great-tasting Seattle's Best coffee. The quality and preparation of the food is far superior to other hotels that offer complimentary breakfast. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to the major tourist sites in Springfield and offers a great view of the impressive state capitol building. The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating, making for a very enjoyable stay. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had Privacy Please sign on door, 2 maintenance people in room when we returned. Smelled like GAS in hall, Mgr. blamed it on gas dryers in basement. Beds for sale? - sheets didn't fit. Very noisey! Breakfast buiffet good. Had stayed here several times before with no issues. Have a problem with the staff disrespecting our privacy.

Room Tip: Don't stay on first floor - GAS Smell
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#7 Family Hotel in Springfield
#11 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi(as of Aug 19, 2011) and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. Also, when we say "High Speed Internet", we mean it. Our base connection has 50meg download speeds, now offered throughout the hotel. Rated #1 by Tripadvisor almost continuously since we opened in 2003 and recently awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, we are truly a unique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.