We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 40 hotels in Springfield
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Extremely reasonable rates near the downtown historical district. Very friendly and accommodating staff who were able to answer questions about the historical sites and give directions. Above average breakfast with attendants who seemed to anticipate your needs. I did miss a fridge in the room, but the room had wonderful, fluffy towels and very nice bed linens as well as toiletries and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    250
    66
    21
    11
See reviews for
151
216
39
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Mars, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Older motel that has been updated. Clean, comfortable rooms. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable of the area. We followed their recommendations for dining were not disapointed.. The hotel is well situated for visiting the local historical sights

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The State House Inn is conveniently located to anything downtown to which you might care to walk! The staff was possibly the friendliest I have ever encountered. While we would have preferred a hotel with a pool, or at least a hot tub, this reservation was arranged for us due to the business nature of the trip. The bed was VERY soft, the softest, in fact, I have ever slept on. While this could be a luxury for some people, it was incredibly uncomfortable for us. It was also challenging to get out of due to the frame coming almost to the full height of the mattress. I suspect we'll end our trip with some bruised thighs. The lower rating came due to the following complaints: the aforementioned bed problems, the outdated tv with very limited channels, the lack of any water feature, and the worn condition of the furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, near San Francisco
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The State House Inn is located downtown, a 6 block walk from the Lincoln home and about 3 blocks from the fabulous Lincoln museum. Parking is free and convenient.

Our room (#712) on the top floor was not huge, but was very nicely appointed and arranged. The bathroom was especially enormous, and excellently stocked, with nice amenities, upscale towels, and bathrobes. The hotel is "energy efficient", meaning that the air conditioner re-sets itself to a higher temperature several times during the day to save energy. It was dismaying to come back to a room that was 77 degrees after our afternoon of sighseeing. The good news is that the temperature you set after 8pm is the temperature you'll get throughout the night.

Featured also is a huge, clean breakfast room, offering eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, fruits, waffles, etc. etc. And good coffee!!!

The staff is friendly and helpful.

Small minuses were (1) very low water pressure in the shower, and (2) very soft mattresses on the beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW area
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The State Inn is an excellent value. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly, free wifi and breakfast all in a wonderful location at a great price. I would stay there again; however, there are a couple of items they could improve. The first day, housekeeping removed the tip from my bed but did not make it. The second day, they took the tip and made the bed but did not clean the coffee pot or half filled mugs. The rooms don't offer much sound protection but the guests were respectful and the nights were quiet. The breakfast could be better but it was plentiful and again the price is terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha, wi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Decent rate-$85 per night. Recent updates didn't do much-old box t.v.'s, loudest squekiest bed ever, bedroom needs floor to ceiling window coverings-you were up with the sun. Even with DirecTV, we had only 6 chanels-no local. Was told on day 1 they were working on it, still had 6 channels on day 4-checkout. No pool, free breakfast was better than expected. Great for the business traveller(never heard any kids screaming up and down the halls), but families might do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask, and forget the romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It's not the Four Seasons, but you can get a really clean comfortable room in this retro yet remodeled hotel for under a hundred. A suite at the hotel cost just 89. I'd stay here again, and I would tell all my friends about it. In the middle of everything with free parking and free breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
#12 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi(as of Aug 19, 2011) and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. Also, when we say "High Speed Internet", we mean it. Our base connection has 50meg download speeds, now offered throughout the hotel. Rated #1 by Tripadvisor almost continuously since we opened in 2003 and recently awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, we are truly a unique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.