We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
East Bay, near San Francisco
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good value, Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The State House Inn is located downtown, a 6 block walk from the Lincoln home and about 3 blocks from the fabulous Lincoln museum. Parking is free and convenient.

Our room (#712) on the top floor was not huge, but was very nicely appointed and arranged. The bathroom was especially enormous, and excellently stocked, with nice amenities, upscale towels, and bathrobes. The hotel is "energy efficient", meaning that the air conditioner re-sets itself to a higher temperature several times during the day to save energy. It was dismaying to come back to a room that was 77 degrees after our afternoon of sighseeing. The good news is that the temperature you set after 8pm is the temperature you'll get throughout the night.

Featured also is a huge, clean breakfast room, offering eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, fruits, waffles, etc. etc. And good coffee!!!

The staff is friendly and helpful.

Small minuses were (1) very low water pressure in the shower, and (2) very soft mattresses on the beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    278
    79
    24
    15
See reviews for
163
248
43
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW area
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The State Inn is an excellent value. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly, free wifi and breakfast all in a wonderful location at a great price. I would stay there again; however, there are a couple of items they could improve. The first day, housekeeping removed the tip from my bed but did not make it. The second day, they took the tip and made the bed but did not clean the coffee pot or half filled mugs. The rooms don't offer much sound protection but the guests were respectful and the nights were quiet. The breakfast could be better but it was plentiful and again the price is terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha, wi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Decent rate-$85 per night. Recent updates didn't do much-old box t.v.'s, loudest squekiest bed ever, bedroom needs floor to ceiling window coverings-you were up with the sun. Even with DirecTV, we had only 6 chanels-no local. Was told on day 1 they were working on it, still had 6 channels on day 4-checkout. No pool, free breakfast was better than expected. Great for the business traveller(never heard any kids screaming up and down the halls), but families might do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask, and forget the romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It's not the Four Seasons, but you can get a really clean comfortable room in this retro yet remodeled hotel for under a hundred. A suite at the hotel cost just 89. I'd stay here again, and I would tell all my friends about it. In the middle of everything with free parking and free breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Retro decor, tidy room, comfortable bed, boob tube TV with probably ten channels, okay internet, really weak and noisy shower, thin walls? Walk through the hallway and you can really hear people gabbing. Stay in your room and you can also hear people in the hallway.

Stayed for a night only. Had a double bed room...but since we were only staying for a night to meet friends in downtown, it didn't matter what room we got. Beds were tucked well...but wasn't sure if we got fresh sheets in one bed. It was wrinkly like someone slept on it already. It sure didn't have that freshly washed smell, although the bed was made up well and the pillowcase looked fresh. So husband and I squeezed ourselves in the other bed because I thought the sheets were fresher. The pillows were nice and comfy, but I am not particularly fond of square pillows.

Not sure they vacuumed for new guests either because someone missed that dental floss on the computer table floor. Eewww!

Lots of towels in bathroom, they even provided a nice robe. But someone forgot to replace the tissue container. We had none. At least they had toilet papers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the State House Inn. We were there for 2 nights while we visited the sights around Springfield. It was a great location. The staff was very nice and helpful. We asked the woman at the front desk where we could find the best pizza in town. She recommended Saputo's. It was an excellent recommendation. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here. It was a very nice experience. Always clean and service was excellant. Beds were very comfortable.

We enjoyed the breakfast that was served. Someone always there to make sure things did not run out.

We like the retro look. Like one reviewer said "Think Mad Men". We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#14 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi(as of Aug 19, 2011) and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. Also, when we say "High Speed Internet", we mean it. Our base connection has 50meg download speeds, now offered throughout the hotel. Rated #1 by Tripadvisor almost continuously since we opened in 2003 and recently awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, we are truly a unique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.