We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 40 hotels in Springfield
Malvern, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Best bed of a two week trip, maybe better than bed at home. Good shower, clean, nice linens. Staff was friendly. Location good, 7/10 mile to Linclon Home and Presidential Library according to my gps. Next door to Capitol building. As good of comp breakfast as you will find. $89.99 midweek price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    250
    66
    21
    11
See reviews for
151
216
39
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Statehouse Inn is a midcentury moderne hotel that was renovated relatively recently. It channels the cool of Mad Men, at a very reasonable price. Knockoffs of iconic furniture & fun prints make what would otherwise be Prairie drab into retro chic. Large enough bath. But it is time for flat screen TVs. Very friendly staff. Pretty decent breakfast, with very helpful servers. Not much in the way of wine at the tiny bar, but, hey, it's Springfield. It's more fun that the dreary Hilton & less expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We only stayed one night on the way to Branson wished we had more time as plenty to see and do. Good location for visiting the Lincoln sites. The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful with advice on places to eat and visit. A good choice at breakfast. Room was clean but a bit dated

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This Hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed at!! Rooms are very clean....beds are so comfortable, I slept better there than at home.....the complimentary breakfast is unbelievable....and the staff just couldn't be nicer!!!. We came to town for my son's wedding with a lot of the guests arriving on Saturday from out of town. They didn't want to travel in their good clothes so I asked if they could check in before the 4:00 check in, since the wedding was at 2:00. The staff prepared the rooms on Friday night so my guests could check in any time they arrived on Saturday morning!! What great service!!! I would like to take my grandkids back to Springfield for some sight seeing....most attractions are within walking distance.... and will definitely stay at this hotel.....we loved it!! I have been getting feedback from the guests I made reservations for and they loved it as well, which is always a relief when you are making arrangements in an unfamiliar town at an unknown hotel for so many. THANKS STATE HOUSE INN FOR YOUR GREAT HOSPITALITY.....WE WILL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wife and I took a walk through history with a visit to Sprinkfield and stayed at the State House Inn. A+++ the staff, the room and Breakfast. The location is close to all the Lincoln historical sites. Will stay there again. Prices are resonable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the State Capital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Being in the heart of the city gives this hotel 5 stars. The first night we were in a queen suite which is supposed to sleep 4 people. There was one comfortable bed and a rock solid futon for the other two people. The head of the bed was on the wall next to the elevator so there was noise from that all night long. We switched rooms the second night since the futon was impossible to sleep on. We were put in a room with two double beds. This room was small and one bed had a broken bed frame. The hotel has a nice look overall, but the practical things are missing.

Room Tip: Pick one away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Room was clean (if a bit on the small side), beds comfortable, free hot breakfast buffet was great! Within walking distance of the Lincoln Museum and many other Lincoln sites as well as other attractions (great view of the capital building) and restaurants. Two parking lots for guests.

One nit to pick: low-definition TV. Once you get used to high-def, it's almost painful to watch low-def.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
#12 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi(as of Aug 19, 2011) and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. Also, when we say "High Speed Internet", we mean it. Our base connection has 50meg download speeds, now offered throughout the hotel. Rated #1 by Tripadvisor almost continuously since we opened in 2003 and recently awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, we are truly a unique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.