We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Retro Style, Walking distance to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cool Retro Style, Walking distance to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We have stayed at over Ascent Collection Hotels and have always had a great experience with them. They are often older, historic boutique hotels that have been nicely refurbished and offer an interesting, upscale local experience...Plus you get points with Choice Hotels, too!

We loved this older hotel that was been remodeled with in retro modern 70's style. We loved the 70's decor with the modern touches. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a large suite with a separate bedroom. The main room had a counter with a sink and microwave, with a small refrigerator below. Just in front of the counter was a low countertop, attached to the wall, that could double as a dining table or desktop. A rolling. swivel desk chair was at the countertop/desktop. A low 70's Danish modern couch was on one wall across from a low cabinet with a older, tube-type TV. The bathroom had a tub/shower with granite countertops and walls. The bedroom had another TV on a chest of drawers and a platform bed with night stands and table lamps on either side.

The only negatives about the room were that we found old popcorn in the microwave and cleaning supplies were left in the bathroom. We were also missing a bathrobe. The bed was comfortable, but the bottom sheet was not fitted and the sheets could not be tucked under the bed due to the way the sides of the platform surrounded the bed. That meant the sheets could very easily be pulled out, so you may end up with the bottom sheet wrapped around you when you woke up in the morning.

The free breakfast in the morning was above the usual and included strawberry waffles and whipped cream, in addition to the eggs, bacon and sausage.

This hotel is located next to the state capitol building and within easy walking distance to all the historic Lincoln locations.

We look forward to a chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    278
    79
    24
    15
See reviews for
163
248
43
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunker Hill, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The State House has retro decor from the 60's/70's. It's not something we're necessarily attracted to, but it was fun.

We stayed 2 nights while attending a wedding. Even though I got a group discount for being in the wedding party, it still seemed a bit pricey. We stayed in the queen suite since the only regular rooms left had 2 double beds. There was only $10 difference between the regular & suite so it was easily manageable, although I'm not sure if this was due to the group rate. The suite includes a bedroom & separate living space with a couch (futon), coffee table, chair, mini-fridge, microwave, sink/counter top, and small computer table w/ office chair. The large space came in handy for us groomsmen to gather & prepare. The bathroom was average size with a tub/shower combo. The rooms were very clean & well kept. Even though we were right next to the elevators, it was still pretty quiet.

I went into one of the regular king rooms and they are very small...this particular one didn't even have a closet. In my opinion, not worth the price we would have paid. If we had stayed in one of those, I'm afraid my review would be different. So we were happy to have gotten the suite instead.

The bar in the lobby is nice for those who want to have a drink without leaving the hotel. I found the retro couches along the outer walls to be a very nice touch.

A complimentary breakfast buffet is available, which is always a plus, but unfortunately I thought the food was below average. The scrambled eggs were runny, the bacon was overdone and the fried potatoes were very dull. There's also make-your-own waffles and other smaller items, such as bagels & cereal.

The old State capital building and the Lincoln Library & Museum are only a few blocks away. Not too far if you don't mind a little walk, otherwise a very short drive. I recommend visiting the Lincoln Museum, it's very interesting, especially the shows. "Ghosts of the Library" is great.

Overall it was a nice stay for a fun occasion. The retro style is unique and offers a break from your typical hotel room. I'd have no problem recommending this hotel, but warn that the smaller rooms don't necessarily reflect the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just returned from a stay at the State House. Really liked everything about it! It is near to the amtrak station, so we did hear some train activity but never early in the morning or while we were trying to sleep. The included breakfast was a generous spread and the business center was handy for double checking addresses for activities. We had the queen suite and really enjoyed the fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

As other reviews note, the rooms are a good standard at the state house inn. Good size, comfy beds, well equipped, good shower. The one thing that let it down a little was the surly service at the front desk. The lady that checked us in hardly said a word and did not seem happy to be there at all. Free parking is a big plus. Other than the service I would have no hesitation recommending.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel. It has a retro feel and well maintained (clean). Upon our arrival, the front desk staff greeted us in a friendly manner.The room was small but adequate for our stay. The complimentary breakfast was better than I had expected. Many choices...and tasty. The location was great! We walked to most of Lincoln's historical sites. The downtown area rolls in the carpet very early...and most restaurants and shops are closed on Sunday.
The only issue I had with this hotel was a discrepancy with our reservation. We had booked 2 rooms-second room for friends my husband and I were traveling with. The first night (Saturday) was booked under the Historical Package-which included a $50 dollar gift certificate to Saputo's Restaurant and two tickets to the Lincoln Museum. The second night (Sunday) under the regular room rate. When we arrived for check-in, the front desk staff indicated that we were not in the computer for the HIstorical Pkg. We showed her our confirmation from the hotel confirming this package. She was very apologetic and indicated that she would leave a note for the person handling promotions. When we checked out Monday morning, nothing had been resolved. I understand these situations can occur, but I was hoping that we would have been compensated for this mistake.
All said, if traveling to the Springfield area, I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel before. It is an older property but well-maintained. Rooms are small but comfortable. Breakfast was great. Wonderful location for touring Lincoln history. Easy to walk to historic sites. Right next to capital building.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I was very pleased with all aspects of this hotel. The bed was really comfortable and the room had more than the usual amenitites for a Choice Hotel - including free water and bathrobes. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast choices were diverse and tasty. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#14 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi(as of Aug 19, 2011) and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. Also, when we say "High Speed Internet", we mean it. Our base connection has 50meg download speeds, now offered throughout the hotel. Rated #1 by Tripadvisor almost continuously since we opened in 2003 and recently awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, we are truly a unique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.