We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique and enjoyable property in an interesting city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cicero, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very unique and enjoyable property in an interesting city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Staff was friendly; hotel updated and very clean. Breakfast was good and had a variety of choices. Room was exceptionally clean and well maintained, and the bed was very comfortable. Even had Bath & Body Works shampoo, lotion, conditioner, etc. Furniture and decor is unique. A quick walk to Old Statehouse, downtown Springfield, Farmers' Market, and IL Statehouse. Seemed safe and I walked around alone downtown in the early morning with no issues. FREE lighted parking right downtown. I don't usually rave about places, but this was really a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Best rates are when IL legislature is not in session
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    292
    84
    27
    16
See reviews for
173
263
46
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I am home now, and it is approximately 11:00 p.m. and I refused to go to bed until I say how much I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was very unique in decor in a positive way, and the bed slept great. The double bedroom was tight but enough to do what you came there for. It made up for it in location, breakfast buffet and friendly service. One of my teenagers even said how nice everyone was, including the men who kept the place clean and the breakfast room attendants. No one who worked there passed us without a kind hello, thanks for that. The check in was very friendly and accommadating, and we checked in early on top of that. Thank you for making out overnight stay in Springfield a memorable one.

Room Tip: The suite with frig, sink and microwave was very roomy and we had the connecting double bedroom, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I previously reviewed this hotel, but it deserves another review as I stay there so frequently for work and, between April-May, I used it for a bit of leisure when my boyfriend joined me on a couple of visits. I'd definitely say it's great for both business and leisure. Either way you need a good night's rest and a hearty breakfast. Very nice central location, ample parking, and good value. After all these years, this was the first time I visited the Presidential Library (Abe Lincoln museum), which was great. While I worked, he toured the Capitol, explored the Illinois State Museum and other sites and shops, and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere.
Best of all are Robin, Latoya, and Kelly at the front desk. They go out of their way to take care of their guests. Housekeeping and breakfast room staff are also friendly and helpful.
I'll be back every time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weldon Spring, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We choose this hotel for 3 reasons: 1) its proximity to the AMTRAK station and Lincoln sites 2) its low price for the area, and 3) its free breakfast. It did not disappoint in any area. All of the sites in which we were interested were within walking distance. The room was clean and attractively decorated, if not fancy. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Springfield to visit these sites, especially if they are taking the train.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamonPriddy, Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We always appreciate our guests comments, which recently earned us a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! We are the only downtown hotel to offer free parking, a free full breakfast, and free high-speed internet (soon to be hotel-wide WiFi).

We are fortunate to be located within walking distance to the majority of all Lincoln sites, including the Presidential Museum. I will pass your compliments along to our staff. Thank you again for providing your review!


Cordially,

Damon L. Priddy, CRDE
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

State House Inn provided great service, a clean and comfortable room, delightful decor, and was walking distance to major sites in Springfield.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We went to see Springfield, Illinois, over the 4th of July weekend and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Springfield bills itself as a tourist spot, but many places were closed, which made it all the more important that our hotel provide full services. The decor was nice, but our sink did not drain properly and it was not fixed while we were there. The hotel does not have a restaurant, and the bar is closed on Sunday night. Breakfast was good both mornings, but overrun and lacking enough capacity to seat everyone. Wireless is not available in the rooms. The section of town in which the hotel is located is not far from the attractions, but the blocks immediately outside the property were run down and had some undesirables hanging around, so we went in early. I won't be going back to Springfield, but if I did, I'd go to another property closer to the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joejeter, Owner at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
We are often penalized because, by all appearances, we are a 4 star hotel. We have 4 star amenities, our staff is 4 star friendly, and the quality of the materials that we used when we rebuilt the hotel were pretty much 4 star materials. The only thing about our hotel that is not 4 star are the rates. The "supposed" 4 star hotels in Springfield often charge well over $100/night for a room. It's easy to get a room at our hotel for significantly less.

So, when I read a guest complaint that we aren't "full service" I wonder what they expect from a 3 star hotel? The city of Springfield, like a lot of small towns, rolls up it's carpets on the weekends; especially Sunday. It wouldn't matter where you stayed in the City, your options for food & entertainment are limited. We stopped opening our Bar on Sundays because we seldom had enough customers to justify it. Actually, we would keep it open but it has been our observation that most hotel guests will walk in and then right back out again, unless there is a small crowd there already. That just doesn't happen on Sundays.

While I was relieved to see this guest didn't give us a one star rating, it still just baffles me when people write such ambivalent reviews. Were the beds comfortable? Yes, they are the same mattresses used in many 4 and 5 star hotels? Were the rooms quiet? Yes, we have soundproofed them to death. Were the rooms clean? Read the other reviews. The vast majority of them praise our cleanliness. As for not being in the "Center of Springfield", you can't get any more centrally located. We are across the street from the Capitol Complex. You can find "undesirables" hanging around just about anywhere depending on how you define "undesirable".

If we had been a run down Motel X we probably would have gotten a rave review because the guest's expectations would be more realistic. Breakfast was overrun? We generally set up our breakfast room so it seats 60 people. We can cram in more than that but choose not to. I've been in a thousand hotels that served breakfast and very few of them had as much space allocated to a FREE breakfast as we do. As for the Wireless, it is being installed as I type this response. We were one of the first, if not the first hotel to have free high speed internet in Springfield. We have watched the technology and strategically waited until the hardware had reached a level we felt would stand the test of time. Within a week or so, we will have one of the fastest wireless networks in Springfield if not in any hotel anywhere. Oh, and it will be complimentary, just like our breakfast, our parking, our current wired internet, our Business Center, and all of the other amenities scattered around the hotel and the guest rooms.

Please, the next time you review us, keep in mind how much you paid, how much you got for free, and especially keep in mind that we are rated a 3 star hotel. That means no Bellmen, no Restaurant, no Concierge, and a few other services. But, when you look at the rate you paid for your room, subtract the cost of breakfast, and we serve a real hot breakfast, not bread & water, subtract the cost of parking and internet, and wake up refreshed because of the quality of our beds & bedding, please review us accordingly. We are doing the best we can for what we charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the State House Inn while in Springfield visiting the Lincoln sites over Memorial Day weekend. Other reviewers have already mentioned the positives (great location, free parking, good service, comfortable beds, cool décor), and the negatives (smallish rooms, limited channel selection on TV). All in all, the positives outweigh the negatives to a significant degree. The State House Inn is a very fun, comfortable and convenient place to stay.
The staff is quite helpful and housekeeping is efficient. The breakfast is good for a hotel breakfast buffet. There were plenty of choices and everything was fresh and well-maintained. However, the breakfast area is on the small side and gets crowded at peak times. The lobby can be used for overflow, but that space doesn’t work as well. I stopped in the business center to check on my email and do some travel planning. There are 4 computers and there is no wait. However, the internet connection was kind of slow.
Overall, the State House Inn is a very good hotel, with a great location, very good service and cool décor. For this class hotel, it is also a very good value. We were happy with our stay and would definitively stay there again when we come back to Springfield.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi(as of Aug 19, 2011) and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. Also, when we say "High Speed Internet", we mean it. Our base connection has 50meg download speeds, now offered throughout the hotel. Rated #1 by Tripadvisor almost continuously since we opened in 2003 and recently awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, we are truly a unique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.