We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center to your Saves list
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 East St. Joseph Street, (6th & Stevenson Dr.), Springfield, IL 62703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
CessnaSkyhawk172
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

2 star hotel at 4 star hotel prices. Unclean and deteriorating bathrooms. Unfriendly staff. Be sure you confirm quoted price is billed amount. Will not return.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    47
    22
    22
See reviews for
24
54
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

This hotel used to be an outdoor/balcony type motor inn but they build a new building around it. It was very weird. The rooms were old, bathroom was NOT clean. Seemed moldy and definitely musty. Cigarette smoke thorughout. Springfield has a law of no smoking in restaurants and bars but the teeny tiny restaurant had several smokers, and the staff smoked in an office behind the front desk. Manager was outright rude. They double charged for a fridge that didn't even work (had to throw some food away!) My toddler enjoyed the decor but hated the cigarette smoke he was forced to breath in.

  • Liked — toddler enjoyed the decor
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

A very nice looking hotel from the moment you arrive with old moter cars and bikes throughout the lobby.

The room was nice and clean but beware of switching the light switches off as they power the TV as well..

Not much in the area of the hotel in the way of food but if you cross over the road behind the Mcdonalds you will find a nice local bar serving $1 draught beers

The staff were not to helpful and on our return home after our stay we found they had charged our credit card twice

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

We were just thinking of visiting the Springfield, IL. area to see the historical sites and happened on Rt. 66 Hotel information on the web. The web site was very intriguing and reasonably priced so we decided to book a room for 3 nights. There also happened to be a old car show going on in downtown springfield so the theme of Rt. 66 hotel went along very well with our time. The staff were soooo friendly and helpful. Everyone always had a smile on their face and they worked together better than any family I have seen. If you want a good time and friendly people to be around, we really suggest this hotel for you! Thank you Rt. 66 for making our time away from home so pleasant!

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

I booked a block of rooms hotel for a wedding party. Staff pleasant when booking but totally rude and unresponsive when trying to contact after the wedding.

Guests staying additional nights had to check out and back in since staff doesn't know how to book.

Guest requests for adjoining rooms and types of rooms were ignored, family of 4 given 1 king bed while family of 2 given 2 beds.

Phones don't work in rooms. Bug infected rooms.

Guest told left items were found but can't be located when trying to pick them up.

Follow-up voice messages left for managers are ignored. (Mark Evans)

Staff hangs up on you when asking for hotel manager name or to leave manager a message.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Stayed while travelling on Route 66 for silver wedding aniversary.
Good themed hotel which seemed appropriate to stay in as we were doing Route 66. Lobby was clean and staff ok. Room was ok and would stay again if travelling in area

  • Liked — theme of hotel
  • Disliked — rooms abit musky
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

Once again my family and I had the pleasure of staying at the Route 66 Hotel and could not have been happier. The staff treated us as close friends and the accommodations were great. We would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center

Address: 625 East St. Joseph Street, (6th & Stevenson Dr.), Springfield, IL 62703
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel And Springfield
Route 66 Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.