We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, even while under renovations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Springfield to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Roscoe, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, even while under renovations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Enjoy the Hilton most everywhere we go. What is most important to me is kindness of all employees, cleanliness throughout and convenience to travel route. A very firm comfortable bed and extra pillows is a nessesity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are happy to announce we have completed renovations!!! Thank you very much for your comment about your last stay at The Hilton Garden Inn, Springfield, IL. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Thank you ,
Stacy Hamlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    109
    49
    18
    13
See reviews for
129
93
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Still in the middle of my stay but have very little that is really positive to say. Then again, i've stayed in far worse. Not all rooms are being renovated - mine was one that wasn't. Just a little tired but perfectly fine. Heating and aircon unit seem to operate independently and windows have an icy blast coming through them so a bit hard to get the temp right. Carpets still being ripped out from the bedrooms above from 7am in the morning so a bit noisy.

Staff in lobby and at breakfast are ok but could be a bit more attentive. Gym machines have also been fixed which is good. Breakfast was a let down - tasteless porridge and an unappetising selection of breads, pastries and cereals. Avoided the cooked stuff.

This hotel is fine but just needs some soul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

So disappointing. Major renovation occurring with no recourse. Loud and noisy all afternoon Sunday and woken abruptly at 7:00 am sharp on Monday. Th whole hotel is dirty and in disarray. No vending machines. We were offered another room, but from what other guests have said, they have the same issue on other floors. We booked a hot tub room and got a standard king. The bed is hard and not comfortable at all. Nfront desk told me there is hardly anyone in the hotel. I can't imagine why they wouldn't give me the room I booked (no refund for difference) or at least give us an evolution bed. So disappointed. Even after construction we will not be back. We travel here often and this hotel will not be on our itinerary in the future.

Room Tip: Courtyard by Marriott is in a much better location. Closer to shopping and numerous restaurant choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the construction issues you experienced while you stayed with us. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. As you could tell we are currently going through renovations; however, I do apologize if we caused you any inconveniences. Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn while we were relocating down to Texas. I had to make the reservation via phone since I didn't have internet while they were loading up our home on the moving van. We were also traveling with my mother, who a couple of weeks earlier had tripped and fell and broke 3 ribs. We pull into the hotel and there was no covered drop off area. Old furniture was laying on the parking lot in a heap. My mother was scared to death to walk across the icy parking lot but we were able to make it okay. The workers at this hotel were not friendly and very rude. They put us on the 4th floor that was all torn up and dusty. This Hilton Garden has gone to the little, square "Days Inn-like" pillows, so the days of the nice, large cushy pillows appears over. I'd suggest other hotels in the same area - Hampton Inn or Drury Inn come to mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the construction issues you experienced while you stayed with us. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. As you could tell we are currently going through renovations; however, I do apologize if we caused you any inconveniences. Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My first night in town I stayed with relatives, which can be less than restful when everyone and their kids show up, so I figured the next two nights would serve me better in a quiet hotel.

I knew the hotel was under construction, so I stopped by late afternoon on my first day in town to check out how disruptive it might be. The young lady at the front desk stated construction was mainly in the lobby, so I figured I'd give it a shot. I stayed at this hotel in late July for a funeral and everything was better than acceptable. Not this time... I asked for an upper floor room further away from common areas (e.g. elevators, meeting rooms, etc.).

From all the banging noises at 8:30 am Christmas Eve morning, the construction seems to have temporarily made its way from the lobby. The curtains had holes in them and when I asked for at least a sheer, I was told since the rooms had been recently renovated; no sheers are available due to new blinds being on order. Really?! And no, I didn't want to relocate to a lower floor room which had not been renovated, not unless I was getting a discount. Yeah right. I don't know if the sleep number bed we had was not functioning properly or what, but it was as hard as a church bench. That's usually the one thing I can count on in all Hilton Brand hotels. I guess that was yet to be upgraded.

I suggest waiting to patron this hotel until they complete their renovations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We probably should have been there a few weeks later. The hotel was undergoing construction, rooms smelt of paint. Otherwise clean and well maintained. I wish during booking (on any site) they can provide status on any construction going-on.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyHamlin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the construction issues you experienced while you stayed with us. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. As you could tell we are currently going through renovations; however, I do apologize if we caused you any inconveniences. Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again.

Thank you,
Stacy Hamlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here when I came to town for a friends wedding - they had recently done renovations and the hotel was in good shape. The staff is very friendly and there is a panera and movie theater across the street. Definitely a decent place to stay if you happen to stop there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Address: 3100 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located at exit 94 of I-55 on the SE side of Springfield with shopping, movie theaters, and over 20 restaurants within a couple of blocks. We are also just minutes from the State Capitol Building Downtown and the Lincoln sites.-Complimentary high-speed Internet access and secure, remote printing to the business center-Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in every room-117 guestrooms (16 suites)-Full service Great American Grill Restaurant for breakfast and dinner-Evening room service-Pavilion Lounge-Heated indoor pool and whirlpool-Workout facility-Complimentary outdoor parking-Just over 4,200 sq. ft. of divisible meeting space to accommodate up to 200 people banquet style-On-site catering from our Executive Chef-Service that is focused on what is most important... YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.