We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a cheap stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge to your Saves list
The Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3751 S 6th Street, Springfield, IL 62703   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Alliteration_78
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay for a cheap stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights during a conference in downtown Springfield. It was a bit of drive to get there from downtown, but not too bad. My room smelled so musty that I had to buy a $4 candle from the Walmart across the way. The candle helped, but when blown out when I wasn't in the room, the musty smell came back full force. The room was clean but very worn. The bedding, mattresses and pillows seemed brand new and very comfortable. Housekeeping made the bed every day, refilled everything and not a thing was missing. The mini-fridge was great to have. The shower was hot, but temperature fluctuated a bit sometimes, usually in the mornings. The restaurant in the hotel was okay food wise but their coffee was terrible. Maybe the creamer was bad? Don't expect a receipt if you booked with Expedia. The front desk didn't seem terribly pleased that I used Expedia.

Room Tip: Not sure if all of the rooms are musty smelling or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    26
    16
    18
See reviews for
37
33
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family had 2 rooms, and our two criteria was to have a nice swimming pool for our children and have easy access to downtown Springfield so we could walk where Abraham Lincoln did. Travelodge satisfied those criteria.

The checkin staff was very nice and helpful. As we were new to Springfield, we had questions on how to access various touring sites in the downtown area. We were also given maps and helpful tips to help us on our way.

We spent 3 nights at this hotel property, and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean upon entering, and we took advantage of the fridge and microwave. We didn't use housekeeping on the first day, but did the second. Our rooms were cleaned and made up as they looked when we first arrived.

The rectangle pool was large enough for novice swimmers to have an area to play while the experienced didn't bother them too much. The hotel provided swim toys, such as noodles and diving rings. Beautiful tables and chairs for guests to sit on or leave their belongings as they enjoyed the pool.

We did wonder, however, why one room had a safe (the one with 2 double beds), but the king room did not.

We had an issue with Abe's Restaurant, which is attached to the hotel property. Seems that we were entitled to a 10% discount on meals since we were guests, but the wait staff forgot to ask us if we were staying there. However, that is no reflection on Travelodge!

If / when we go back to Springfield, we would stay at this Travelodge again. It was convenient to where we wanted to tour (Abraham Lincoln's home, the Lincoln Museum, the Lincoln Presidential Library, and Lincoln's Tomb); there is a beautiful WalMart across the highway from Travelodge, as was a Golden Corral restaurant. (We didn't get to eat at the Golden Corral because the parking lot was ALWAYS full.) However, there are very nice restaurants downtown, and a variety of cuisine from which to choose.

Do give this hotel property a try; it was well worth the rate, and we had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potosi, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

When checking out I had forgotten my pillow. It may not seem like a big deal but its the key to a good nights sleep. I called after hours and was told that the maid didbnot log it as found and thatb the front desk did not have a key to look in houskeeping. I inquired if there was anything else that could be done and i was told "Uh could you call later". I called an hour later and was told by the same front desk person the same story and told to call back at 11 pm. 11 PM!! So i did and was subsequently told by a new front desk person in collaberation with the ols front desk person (I could tellbbecause i heard them talking to eachother over the phone) the exact same story. I was then told I would have to call back at 830 am when house keeping arrived. Given the run around for several hours.

Room Tip: there are several hotels just next door. give them your business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Looking for a cheap but decent night's lodging in Springfield? You could do worse than the Travelodge. It's located right off the I-55/I-72 exit at the south end of town. Yes, it's an old property (might have been an Econo Lodge at one time judging by old sign in back of the property) and the rooms are what you would expect of a place built in the 70s. But, everything works, the staff is reasonably friendly, there's a mom-and-pop restaurant right off the lobby and its quiet. Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed. Only 15 minutes to all the Lincoln sites downtown.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

A pleasant lobby with a good welcome is a good start. The room was clean, quiet, and everything in it, including the coffee maker, worked perfectly. In this price range (around $60,) I found nothing much better between Chicago and Flagstaff. Along I-40, I have paid more and gotten quite a bit less. Outside stairs are a little narrow, but that is a criticism I had to reach for.

The neighboring streets are a little odd, with the Interstate offramps nearby. Incidentally, this is right on one of the alignments of old Route 66 and the landmark "Cozy Dog," commercial birthplace of the corn dog, is just up South 6th Street from the motel. A good view of Midwestern woods and farmland is out back of the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofallon, mo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed in this hotel over the 4th of Jult weekend. we arrived very late, While the staff was friendly, and the room was very large. The hotel was very rundown, and in need of a face lift, fresh paint, and cosmetic repairs. We were put in one ot the back buildings, that had a birds nest in the rafters, and a hornets nest near the door of our room, peeling paint, and a large water stains on the stairways. The room was moderate at best, and found several bugs inside the linens. This place would be ok if there was better maintenence. Probably would not stay here again, and would not reccommend to family or friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Business took me and my group to Springfield for the weekend of April31, 2010. The staff there helped us settle in and guide us through the area with written instructions and maps. Room was very clean and tidy. The price was right also.

On my next trip there I'll be using Travelodge to hang my hat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBear25, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
We appreciate your comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Travelodge of Springfield. Thank you for taking taking the time out of your schedule to let us know about your stay. We value our guest's opinions and we are very pleased that our staff did such a wonderful job accommodating your group. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Springfield. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 3751 S 6th Street, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located off of Interstate 55 (Exit 92A). We are just a few minutes from the downtown area historic Lincoln sites, Lake Springfield Beach, University of Illinois at Springfield and more. Restaurant and lounge on the premises that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. More restaurants and shopping nearby, including a new Wal-mart super center located directly across the street from our hotel. Help yourself to freshly popped popcorn in our newly remodeled lobby. Our core values that we all participate in is - we hope all that enter as guest, and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Travelodge Hotel Springfield
Travelodge Springfield
Travel Lodge Springfield
Springfield Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.