We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Springfield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at 835

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at 835
835 South Second Street, Springfield, IL 62704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Wheaton, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Springfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for one night during a weekend getaway to see the historical sights of Springfield. The Inn fit us perfectly and also our trip because of the historic feel of the Inn. Our room, the Lilac, was very nice though was one of the smallest rooms. Good relaxing atmosphere, we enjoyed the free movie selection.
Breakfast in the morning was great, although most rooms were occupied we were alone in the dining room. The staff was very helpful.
The only recommendation that I would give is that the shower pressure in our room was very poor, not strong at all. Could have been better. But overall we were happy with the B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    47
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
110
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are so glad we decided to stay at the Inn in Springfield during our recent visit to the Lincoln sites. We stayed for three days, enjoyed the breakfasts and the wine and cheese served in late afternoons. The Eisenhower Room fits our needs beautifully. The Victorian decor was beautiful, we had one of the original claw foot bathtubs in this former apartment house from 1920! During the weekend we stayed, there were a few events at the Inn, none of which affected us at all. The train whistle mentioned in other reviews really never bothered us. When we returned to our room in the evening, we found a little basket with home-baked still-warm cookies - every night! There was milled guest soap in the bathroom too. These little extras really made for a terrific B&B experience. Way to go, Inn at 835!

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others, some have balconies, check the website before you reserve your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having stayed at many B&B's throughout the Midwest and Germany, we can honestly say that this B&B's is amongst our top 5. Having been restored perfectly to it's early 20th century charm, it is equipped with every convenience of modern day life. The nightly room rate is reasonable yet the cleanliness is A+. The beds are comfortable and the rooms sound-proof. Our room, the Iris, is charmingly decorated and has a lovely porch which is equipped with a very comfortable sofa and chairs. We sat on the porch each morning and read the newspaper, provided by the B&B. Breakfasts were superb and served conveniently between 8 and 10 a.m. weekends and 7 to 9 weekdays. The housekeeping is meticulous. We had lunch Saturday at the owner's microbrewery downtown. It was fabulous and reasonable. We will return here soon.

Room Tip: I believe there are 12 rooms. We did not see the other rooms. There are 2 floors with rooms, I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Iowa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent the Weekend and loved the experience. Perfect and quiet location within walking to downtown Springfield's restaurants and nightlife. Room was oh so comfortable and had lovely decorations. Great historic building too!

Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very ample and good.

Room Tip: Book the "Rose", well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The building was beautifully restored including gorgeous early 20th century woodwork. Our room was quite comfortable, private, attractive, and clean. I had read that the train was loud but found that it never disturbed us for the three nights we were there. In fact, when I was aware of the train going through town, I quite enjoyed the whistle and the connection to the importance of the railroad in Springfield. It seems that there is no way to escape the train if you are near the Capitol. Breakfast was served during a window of time, which I definitely prefer over a set time. The food was delicious and varied each day. The staff was welcoming but not intrusive. My husband loved the daily delivery of chocolate chip cookies. The Inn at 835 was a great place to relax after exploring the Lincoln sights in and near Springfield.I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many things impressed us during our stay here. First was how quiet the place is. I asked the next morning if there were many other guests in the Inn and was told they were sold out. We never heard a sound. Also, there are railroad tracks nearby. We never heard the train in the room. Our room was large and beautifully appointed. The staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. The basket of chocolate chip cookies waiting on the doorknob as we checked in was greatly appreciated. If we ever go to Springfield again, we know where we will be staying.

Room Tip: All of their room floor plans are available on their website. This was really helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at 835 for a weekend getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, comfortable, and lovely. It is within walking distance of most of the site to see in Springfield. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at 835? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 835

Address: 835 South Second Street, Springfield, IL 62704
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Inn At 835 Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at 835, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at 835 to your Saves list