We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bed & Breakfast experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at 835

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at 835
Save
You added Inn at 835 to your Saves list
835 South Second Street, Springfield, IL 62704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santos, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Bed & Breakfast experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Inn at 835 was truly a wonderful experience. The suite was beautiful, and comforable. Breakfast perfect and the service attentive, helpfull and friendly. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    54
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
137
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Inn at835 offers cozy accommodations in a historic home. Stay includes a delicious home cooked full breakfast. Rooms are somewhat dark, decorated with heavy fabrics. Our room offered only a large whirlpool bath- no shower, but some room do have showers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in the Orchid Suite on 7/4/12 and 7/5/12 and loved it. Big and roomy and very quiet. Our friends stayed in the Rose Suite. The staff was very friendly, breakfast were excellent and the nightly delivery of hot cookies was great. :) Even though the temperture outside was very hot, it was nice and cool inside. We love antiques and really enjoyed the stay. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This inn is a treasure. My parents and I stayed in the Orchard Suite, which has two bedrooms and a living room, and our jaws just dropped when we were shown in. Absolutely gorgeous furnishings, rich and elegant but so, so comfortable. And the bathroom was just as luxurious with a whirlpool tub and shower. Everything was very clean and well-kept, with beautiful paintings and other decorations, which made you feel like you were in a place that was much more expensive than what you paid for it! We arrived relatively early and thus had a chance to peek into some of the other rooms that were open, and every single one that we saw (which was most of them on the 2nd floor) was just as amazing. I have no idea why you’d stay in a hotel instead of this beautiful inn.

They also have an extensive binder full of restaurants in the area, included walking and driving time to reach them, which we found very helpful! We stayed during one of the hottest days of the summer, so we drove instead of walking to the Lincoln museums, but in more moderate weather I think it would definitely be do-able. It’s just a few blocks past the Capitol building, and the museum is not far beyond that.

The staff were lovely: very polite, friendly and helpful and gave us great tips on what was going on in Springfield while we were there. It doesn’t have quite the feel of a usual b&b, I think it’s a bit too large for that, but that did not detract at all from our enjoyment of it. This is definitely the place to stay in downtown Springfield!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The inn appeared to have lost its shine. It was clean and comfortable, however most of the main house was dark with lights off, and lacking personality and character, bordering on slight neglect. We stayed in the detached cottage in the Lavender Room. The room was clean, but the decor was inconsistent with the inn and just seemed out of place. Wifi is not accessible from the cottage. The breakfast was tasty and filling and the service overall was average (breakfast service was friendly).

It is walking distance from most of the Abe Lincoln sites as well as some decent options for food. The trains can be heard from the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the Lily room which is one of the smaller rooms but we still really enjoyed it. The Inn was very clean and the staff was helpful.

However, if you are looking for a personal connection to the B&B owners this is not the place for you. It is more like a small historical hotel. We had different people checking us in, serving breakfast and the wine & cheese and checking us out. Everyone was very helpful and polite but it is different (not necessarily bad) from some of the other intimate B&B's we have stayed.

Wine and cheese was available in the later afternoon, early evening; a little basket with cookies in the evening with tomorrow's weather report and a home cooked breakfast. Nice touches.

Also the main areas are really dedicated more for the catering and event business. The public rooms are not decorated like a historic home but more like a place for an event.

All said we would return and try one of the larger rooms. It was a pleasant stay in a beautiful old building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Inn, a fine representative example of historic Springfield. Our accomodation was in the Bell House Lavender Suite, which is not in the main Inn, but behind it in a cute little white cottage. The furnishings and decor were nice enough but were more shabby than chic. The suite has two porches with seating and tables but they were tainted by old spider webs, leaves and dirt. (one example of a miss on the innkeepers' parts) I would think Housekeeping would sweep that off for each new guest. The breakfast (served in the main inn) was ordinary but filling. On each table in the breakfast room was a small vase of flowers (nice touch), but the flowers were bedraggled and turning brown. The same flowers were on our table the next morning too, more wilted. (another miss) Bell House guests have to traipse through the parking lot to get to the main building for breakfast. Our way through to the breakfast room was a circuitous path through back hallways and areas that had been used recently (we think) as banquet rooms but there were still serving dishes and decorations on those tables. (another miss) The same person who we believe is the manager checked us in, served us at breakfast and did the dishes. (yet another miss)
We feel there is insufficient staff at the Inn at 835 to maintain acceptable standards for guest service and professionalism. They appear to be stretching themselves too thin by running a B&B, a catering business, plus a microbrewery and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at 835? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 835

Address: 835 South Second Street, Springfield, IL 62704
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Inn At 835 Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at 835, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.