We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad but not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield

Save Saved
You added Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3280 Northfield Dr, Springfield, IL 62702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Springfield
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Bad but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Upon arrival this hotel seems nice. We arrived very early (10:30 am) and were surprised to find out they had a room available to give us already. We unloaded our stuff from the car and headed up to the room. The second you opened the door the overpowering smell of cigarette smoke hits you (this was supposed to be a nonsmoking room). We thought lets head out for all of the Lincoln site seeing we could handle in one day and maybe it would dissipate while we were gone. We got back from our day around 5ish and as soon as we opened the door it hits you still so we went down to speak with the front desk regarding the smell and were offered a different room, but as we were talking to the front desk the housekeeper who cleaned the room yelled to the front desk that she didn't notice no smell and she cleaned it. This made us feel very uncomfortable as we were not trying to get someone in trouble but we were also not lying. We did end up switching rooms and the next one had no smoke smell and was fine. We had a decent nights sleep and woke up to hit the road again but before hand needed to shower. The tub did not drain at all we had standing water that went up over our ankles and stayed that way for the next person to shower (kind of gross). The breakfast at the hotel was nice as they do have a few hot selections and waffles. Overall I would probably make another pick next time as there were just too many little things that added up here. As far as location it is not a bad drive to most of the Lincoln sites you would want to see and there are plenty of food options nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
10
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stay here for business once a year and while it was decent last year, I was really impressed with the rooms and hotel overall this year. The hotel is clean and quiet and the staff are friendly. The rooms are beautifully decorated with great amenities such as in room microwave and fridge and free wifi.

The decor from last year to this year was night and day as was the continental breakfast! Lots of choices and surprisingly this hotel had the best scrambled eggs I've ever had at a continental breakfast! The pool is really nice and so is the convention center.

I'm definitely staying here again next year!

Room Tip: I've stayed on all floors and prefer the first floor rooms for easier access to and from the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stay here every year on a regular trip we make. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Location is quiet but very accessible. Breakfast is a plus. The staff are always welcoming and accommodating. The fridge and microwave in the room is a bonus! We will continue to make this a regular stop for our trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked Northfield Inn on Hotwire when all the other hotels went up for weekend nights. Were we happy! We didn’t even know about this large hotel /convention complex in town but it is beautiful. And somehow, we were upgraded to a 2 room suite! .. really nice! Every area in the hotel was well decorated and the breakfast was good, although they trade off main dishes. (Unfortunately that day it was biscuits and gravy; they would have eggs the next day, and my husband can’t eat biscuits,) The only problem was the noise in the hallways: very easy to hear all in your room, and there were some men at a convention up talking in the halls past midnight and then again at 6 a.m. But otherwise, everything was great and we heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake villa, il
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was friendly, we were able to check in earlier than the check in time which was wonderful. The pool is really nice and the free breakfast had alot more than I would have thought. The beds were the most comfortable that we experienced in any hotel. Rooms were very clean, Very Impressed. One of the few hotels that was in the nice area of Springfield.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed two nights, room was clean and large size. Breakfast was a plus for a hotel, plenty of selection. Indoor pool, large meeting rooms. Biggest draw back was no business center.... Would do it again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed the night of 11/10/ 2012 for a wedding with the reception on the property. We received the "wedding rate" and asked for and got an early check in(noon), so that we could change and attend the service. 5 Stars for everything. Beautiful wedding hall and dinner also. They have just finished remodeling the lobby area, so maybe they did some rooms also. I'd say give them one more chance if your stay was bad. The complex is only 14 years old. We'll definitely be back if in the area.

Room Tip: We usually ask for a room "away" from the ice machine area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield

Address: 3280 Northfield Dr, Springfield, IL 62702
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northfield Inn And Suites Springfield
Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northfield Inn & Suites Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.