We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place, friendly great pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallina Pizza

Gallina Pizza
3133 S Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62703-4501
(217) 529-0649
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 432 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Omaha, NE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small place, friendly great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Economical and great food. friendly atmosphere, great pizza. Parking and traffic was difficult during daytime in this area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Springfield Institution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I've lived in this area my whole life and currently work downtown. For a lunch-time special, 2 slices (thin, but large) of pizza & a drink its around $5- you can't beat it. I will say that the service varies depending on the day of the week and its never consistent. I was just in for lunch last week. The cheese pizza slices were luke-warm and the garlic knots were burned. The last time I was in, it was not like that. My husband's roast beef parmesean took at least 15mins, which if I'd waited to eat my pizza with him it would've been stone cold. The sandwich was good. Drink refills are typically a quarter but oftentimes the crew will let it go (thanks!). Overall its a great stop for visitors b/c its been around for so long & the pizza is really kid friendly (crust is super thin, basic toppings are generally good, no weird sauce or hidden spices to worry about-both my kids a teen & a 10yr old like it). I recommend giving it a try but know its probably not the best pizza in town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fast and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Walking distance from the Hampton Inn where we stay frequently. Decided to go have a pizza at Gallina's one time. Pizza is good enough, decor is decidedly unfancy and a bit dated. Big frosty pitchers of Pieroni are available with you meal and you really should get one! Prices were very reasonable.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This little, family-owned pizzeria is the best! The owner, Vito, is from Sicily and hand makes each order. The pizza is wonderful! We also ordered an Italian sub & Roast Beef Parm - both were incredible!

The prices are very reasonable and the quality of food is excellent!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best hidden secret for Pizza and the Best Meatballs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Vito makes the best Pizza and Meat Balls around.He makes everything from scratch and you have to try out the meat balls.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallina Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Gallina Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallina Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.