We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Star

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Star
1899 E Sangamon Ave, Springfield, IL 62702-1205
217-789-0800
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 432 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Tried this place by chance and enjoyed the food very much. It is one of the only places in Springfield where they haven't taken a bunch of American food and poured sweet and sour sauce over it. It appears this is more of a carryout place but there is limited seating which compares to most fast food restaurants. If you order to eat in, the food is prepared quickly because there are a ton of carryouts going out the door. It doesn't appear that any food is pre-cooked and kept warm waiting for the order to be made. I don't put much stock in Springfield food inspection grades, you are either in or out when it comes to this town. Places that look clean probably are and stay out of the ones where you see dirt. I would give a the Springfield food inspection process a no confidence vote. There is a lot of food carried out the doors and if there were a problem this would not be. You will have to go to St. Louis to beat the Chinnese food served here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Springfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We go to this restaurant 3-4 times a month. Everything we have ordered has been excellent. We especially favor the mixed vegetables and tofu. Very reasonably priced. Clean. The staff has gotten to know us and are cordial. This restaurant is in a strip mall, so the atmosphere is nothing to brag about. We go for the food and have never been disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hair in food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

When I find hair in my food it pretty much ruins my appetite. Not much else to say here. No plan to return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieil
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“I advise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Before dining here, I checked out the food inspection score, and noticed they recieved an 80 or higher more than once. Which I believe is the worst score I have ever seen. RUN!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Filthy conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Food is not great. The place is filthy and needs cleaned. The employees did not seem to care whether I was there or not. Very short and just wanted your money. I have no idea how this place stays open.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Star also viewed

 

Been to China Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.