We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the quick stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie Parkers Incorporated

Charlie Parkers Incorporated
700 North Street, Springfield, IL 62704-5803
(217) 241-2104
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 433 restaurants in Springfield
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth the quick stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After seeing Charlie Parkers on "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives," we finally were able to get there. It was worth the stop! The Quonset style of the building is a fooler. It is not huge inside and so on a Saturday AM, there appeared to be a large wait. The "large wait" was less than 10 minutes and in 40 minutes we were on our way out the door satisfied and full. For the size of the plate of the "horseshoe" that I had, I thought I would feel stuffed if I ate it all. To Charlie Parkers staffs' credit, it is a satisfying breakfast horseshoe without that feeling you ate too much! I couldn't believe that I ate the whole thing without feeling sick! It was delish! The atmosphere is fun, service is speedy, and definitely a diner! Cannot wait to stop in again with some friends next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    68
    41
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

There were 6 of us including my 2 nephews there for breakfast. The menu is full of wonderful choices. I the the breakfast burrito and loved it. My nephews had the 16 inch pancakes and their eyes were huge when they say the size. (like a large pizza & on a pizza pan). A very unique building with great decor on the walls such as records and old signs. I highly recommend it. Just remember it is a " diner and not a fancy place. I will be back for more!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stopped at Charlie Parkers on a friend's recommendation. The outside was a little shocking because it wasn't a... traditional building like we were expecting. Well, don't judge a book by its cover! The inside was clean, nicely decorated with great diner atmosphere. Our waitress was very sweet, quick and attentive.

I ordered the famous Blueberry Casserole (mentioned on the sign outside) with a side of bacon. When it came to the table I didn't think it looked very appetizing, shortly after my first bite I didn't care because it was delicious!

We weren't disappointed! Great stop!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Traveling salesman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I love this place! I've been here several times but only for breakfast. They always run a lunch special and the place is a must stop.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Charlie Parker's always lives up to its great reputation. Homespun food and interesting atmosphere. Service is quick and food is very good. I love their breakfasts. Should esp try the great wheat toast--yeah, I know toast? But, the bread makes great toast!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Parkers Incorporated also viewed

 
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Charlie Parkers Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie Parkers Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.