We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meanest sandwich makers ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Head West

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Head West
1124 W Jefferson St, Springfield, IL 62702-4802
217-793-9101
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 432 Restaurants in Springfield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
San Diego, California
1 review
“Meanest sandwich makers ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I like their food and thought at first maybe it was just everyone at the Jefferson store were having a bad day, but third time is not a charm. Dark never smiles sandwich maker acts like he is doing heart surgery, obviously despises his job and his co-workers. Finished up a sandwich order for me and I had specified cold and he put in oven and then acted mad like it was my fault!!! You should not be made to feel unwelcome or like a inconvenience you are helping them keep their business going. Tried to get phone number of owner to convey feelings and was told that is not given out. Will probably not return. Lighten up sandwich makers, you could have went to college and made something of yourselves, it is not our fault you are working here.
Food okay but they always mess up your order at this particular shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Subs Ever. In the whole world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Firstly, you HAVE to get sweet bread and the basics (give or take a few) or it isn't a Head West sandwhich. The service is okay; they are always busy and more concentrated on making your sub than talking to you. They are a little more expensive for a sandwhich ($8-10) but it's worth it! If you've never been, you have to go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Just wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Not only do you get a great sandwich, the ambiance at any of the seven locations is so much fun!

They are doing something right and it is yummy!

I have a favorite but I'm sure the one you pick or customize will fill you up with a smile!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW SUBS... Yes please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you like people who put meat on their subs, this is the place for you. Seriously no other sub shop matches up. So good I really won't do it justice by describing it, just skip the subway this time and go to HEADWEST it is so much better and just as fast and has more hippies.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best subs ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Enormous amounts of meat, cheese, vegies on every sub. The bread is amazing. I will never go to Subway again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Head West also viewed

 

Been to Head West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Head West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.