We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 specials that were not good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maid-Rite

Maid-Rite
118 N Pasfield St, Springfield, IL 62702
(217) 523-0723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 410 Restaurants in Springfield
Restaurant details
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
“3 specials that were not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was out by White Oaks, thought to myself "hey we haven't had anything good for a while" so let's head all the way up north and do Maid Rite. Not................ the buns were not steamy like the signs said. The order of fries we got were smaller that McDonalds gives. The mug of rootbeer was packed with ice cubes so by the time you took a drink, the actual rootbeer was so watered down it was like water. For 7.99 you get two sandwiches, fries and a drink. For 8.99 you get a little swip of cheese on the bun of those two sandwiches. The meat is now lacking on the relish/onions that were standard years ago. They have apparently been bought out and the "family" doesn't own/operate it anymore. And to top it all off, there was not a stitch of air-conditioning, just fans running. I won't even tell you about the women's bathroom.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL. USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“THE first Drive-In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is so unique and yummy. Nothing fancy but you have to try a Maid-Rite hamburger.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family run business for over 30 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Anytime I visit Springfield I make a special trip to Maid-Rite. A lot better than McDonald's. Basically a hamburger, but not the typical patty burger, it is cooked ground hamburger on a bun, but has a secret flavor to the meat.
I used to live in Springfield 26 years ago and worked practically across the street from Maid-Rite. I used to go there for lunch just about every day. Since I have lived in Florida for the past 26 years I still go to Maid-Rite anytime I travel to Springfield to visit family members.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Steamy delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This cute little place serves steamed loose meat burgers. Think of it like a sauce less sloppy joe. I recommend the rootbeer. They make it themselves!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“expensive - no quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

thought we'd try it for lunch since we work downtown... ugh.. paid $5.50 for a small, white bun with a spoonful of salty ground beef and tastless fries. (they charged $1 extra for cheese slice!) it may be nostalgic, but i would advise you not eat there. very sad. :(

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maid-Rite also viewed

 

Been to Maid-Rite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maid-Rite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.