We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to have a horseshoe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'arcy's Pint

D'arcy's Pint
661 W Stanford Ave, Springfield, IL 62704
217-492-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 433 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You have to have a horseshoe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you love the idea of big portions with big flavor then you can't miss D'arcy's. The drinks are excellent and some are unique. Please split a horseshoe with a friend and don't stop 'till your done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    108
    47
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite places to eat.Famous for the horse shoe all of their food is delicious. The staff is super friendly they really go above and very family oriented although they do serve alcohol. I recommend arriving early as they don't take reservations and they are always busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
2 reviews
“Horseshoe Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you have never tried a Horseshoe, go to D'arcy's Pint in Springfield, IL! Their cheese sauce is the best and you will not leave hungry. They also had Sam Adam's Merry Maker (Gingerbread Stout) on tap. My wife and I split the Philly Cheesesteak Horseshoe and it was plenty. We have been to D'Arcy's many times when visiting her family. Even though there is always a wait, the Horseshoe fix is worth it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheese Sauce -- BOOM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Darcy's Pint may not have invented the horseshoe. (An open faced meat sandwich, topped with French fries and cheese sauce). But they perfected it. A Springfield tradition. You will need a Moomoo, flip flops, and an electric scooter to haul yourself around after eating it. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have eaten at Darcy's more than I can count. They are known for their horseshoes but their pizza is just as good. Expect a small wait but it is well worth it. I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'arcy's Pint also viewed

 

Been to D'arcy's Pint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'arcy's Pint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.