We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseshoe, horseshoe, horseshoe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'arcy's Pint

D'arcy's Pint
661 W Stanford Ave, Springfield, IL 62704
217-492-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 432 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horseshoe, horseshoe, horseshoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Try the local tradition the horseshoe! Had a really good cider beer too. Non-horseshoe was great too

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    100
    39
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Springfield Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The meal at D'arcy's Pint was outstanding. This is our second time through Springfield and our second time stopping for dinner at D'acry's Pint. The horseshoe and pony are our favorite. The pony, all though the smaller meal of the two, is still a lot to eat. Outstanding service from the front door, through the meal. Eating at D'arcy's Pint is a a must for anyone visiting Springfield.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best of What's Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is the best of what's around. Excellent local flair. Friendly service. Loud but friendly atmosphere. I got the grilled chicken "Shoe." Good for clogging the arteries but worth it once in a while. Any of the "Shoes" are excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A must!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

How many times do you get to go to a place that was featured on Man vs Food. We were trying to go to another place that was on the food network but they were closed. Thank goodness they were so we ended up here. We got the pony shoe and boy was that a lot of food. I could not imagine getting the horse shoe. The price was perfect not even $10. So what is a horseshoe you ask? It is Texas toast on bottom, meat (I had hamburger) a million fries on the top then its all covered in cheese sauce.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, IL
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Place in Our Back Yard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We travel the world over and then forget to review places that are near our hometown. This is a great little jewel that I have been to for years. It used to be located near my work and I would go there afterwards with a few friends but now they have build and moved to a very nice new place about 1/2 mile from their old location and it is even better except that you may have to wait a few minutes to get seated if you are there on a weekend night. The food is some of the greatest bar food I've ever eaten and I've had various things off of their menu and never had anything bad. The other night when we were there, it was a beautiful September evening and sat outside. There is still a cornfield on the other side of the street. I had the toasted cheese sandwich. It was on some kind of cornbread that made it easily the best Grilled cheese I have ever eaten. My husband had a hamburger and said it was GREAT and that is high praise for him. One of their specialties is a pony or horseshoe, one of the local specialties. It is bread, topped with your choice of meat, hamburger is my fav, then topped with fries, then topped with a cheese sauce. I Know, heart attack city!!! but if you are ever at D'arcy's, just try it once. The service was excellent even though they were full. PLUS, it won't break the bank. My husband had two beers with hamburger and my grilled cheese and fries that I couldn't finish and it was $17. WhooHoo!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'arcy's Pint also viewed

 

Been to D'arcy's Pint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'arcy's Pint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.