We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augie's Front Burner

Augie's Front Burner
109 S 5th St, Springfield, IL 62701-1208
217-544-6979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Augie's Front Burner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 433 restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Washington St
Description: Augie’s Front Burner is a locally owned, owner operated dining establishment that has served the Springfield area since 1997. Owner August Mrozowski is committed to offering all of his guests an exceptional, casual yet elegant, dining experience. A proud supporter of local businesses and local farmers, Augie’s Front Burner also offers catering for parties and special events.August Mrozowski, owner and chef of Augie’s Front Burner, started his culinary career in Springfield at the age of 13. Following in his father’s footsteps, he developed a passion for the culinary arts and worked at the Cafe L'Europe in Sarasota Florida for 19 years. In 1992, August opened his own restaurant, and in 1997 he returned home where he opened Augie’s Front Burner in Springfield. Augie’s overriding desire is to present his guests with the freshest and most interesting products available on the market. A strong supporter of other local businesses, Augie can be spotted weekly in the local farmers’ markets; he makes a point of knowing the best seasonal items that are available and creates his menus around those products. August’s creative flair can clearly be seen when it comes to his food presentation. He believes that fine dining is a multi-sensory experience, and he ensures that each plate is constructed and garnished beautifully so that when it arrives at the table, diner’s are ready to take in a flavorful, texture-filled culinary delight.
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Thank you TripAdvisor. My wife and I were visiting Springfield and had no idea where to eat. Saw this restaurant on TripAdvisor and liked the review. It was GREAT!! Food was excellent from top to bottom. I had the lobster bisque, and duck. My wife had scallops. Don't know if I will be in Springfield for dinner in the future - but if I am I will be back.
Only issue was our waitress seemed to be overwhelmed - too many tables?? We had to flag her down and ask for a few things that we needed. But otherwise she was polite and our food was delivered hot and good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    55
    33
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint decorations, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good restaurant for dinner. The lobster bisque was NOT good, don't get it. It was literally just broth - no actual lobster! Other than that the food was very good. I had the scallops special and they were cooked perfectly. My husband ordered the New York Strip Steak and was very pleased with it. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone heading to Springfield!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After checking Trip Advisor reviews in Springfield we decided on Augie's and we were certainly not disappointed. It was bustling. Had no reservation (thought we could walk in early on a Monday night) but after a drink, Kim advised that they had located a table for us. We declined and announced that we would eat at the bar. Kim was helpful and we followed her suggestions. Started with a cup of lobster bisque which really hit the spot. Then we shared a delicious flatbread and finished by sharing an excellent duck dish with an oriental touch. Highly recommend this place--say hi to Kim behind the bar.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

With perfect weather in Springfield the day of our visit, we decided to dine outdoors. We walked around the Old State Capitol coming upon Augie's Front Burner quite by surprise (although it is directly across from the Capitol). A few tables were set on the sidewalk area. The street traffic was minimal that evening thus not a distraction. Our experience was delightful. We had the bacon, corn chowder and the beet and tomato salad to begin with. The soup was a bit on the cool side when it arrived at the table. But it was quite good. And the salad, YUM! Our entrees were the potato-crusted Atlantic Cod and crab cakes (actually an appetizer on the menu). Both entrees were very The service was perfect; our server was both helpful and attentive. When in Springfield, we will return to Augie's Front Burner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped in Springfield on our way across the country and used Trip Advisor to find a lunch stop. We saw Augies on our way to the other spot and decided to try it. DELICIOUS!! I had the Grilled Salmon salad and, coming from CA, I am a SNOB about my salmon. This salmon was cooked absolutely to perfection. The service was attentive without being overbearing and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augie's Front Burner also viewed

 

Been to Augie's Front Burner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augie's Front Burner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.